Sheri Gaynor’s Creative Awakenings

I wrote a review for Creative Awakenings by Sheri Gaynor, and submitted it to Amazon.com and Amazon.ca today.  I’ve never done this before (post a review on someone else’s page), but the book excited me, as does the amazing way Sheri is promoting herself. Self promotion used to have negative connotations for me, but I now believe that you can empower and enrich lives, including your own, by being willing to put yourself out there. It’s theatre, really, along with game playing, artfulness, and humor. LOTS of humor. Those brazen cowboy boots (purple!) of Sheri’s are walking all over the Internet, I daresay, but they are walking alongside people instead of over them!

I’m going to share my review here, as well. It needed to stay under 250 words, which made it tough, because I had a lot more to say, including the fact that Gaynor’s processes closely resemble my own personal methods of artmaking. She also echoes my passion for empowering others to embrace their creative possibilities. The thing is, she does it with such verve! It brings to mind the vintage Carol Burnett shows, where Carol pounds on her chest and emits those exuberant (some might say deafening) Tarzan calls. You must possess a certain confidence to pull off something like that.  Sheri also displays that aplomb, and it beckons like a beacon to like-minded souls.

FEISTY FEMALES KICK UP THEIR HEELS

Creative Awakenings honors the twelve months of Sheri Gaynor’s life when she ran away from home in order to recover her “authentic self.” She wanted a creative awakening, so she both imaginatively and physically embarked on a journey that would encourage personal transformation. Gaynor now offers a map for others to employ as a guide for discovering, or heightening, their own creative powers. The journey starts with a threefold assignment to (1) uncover and EnVision a dream (2) create empowering art to strengthen your intention to follow that dream and (3) reflect on your art to invite a dialogue that elucidates and deepens the dream.

Gaynor invited guest artists to embrace the process she developed, and they are amazingly open and generous in sharing the experiences of their assigned month, including art techniques. The book closes with a vibrant, pullout Transformation Deck to help tweak the subconscious into revelation mode.

I highly recommend this book to those Feisty Females out there who are ready to kick up their heels, shout “Wooo Hoooo,” and stomp all over the “Venomous Toad Committee” that always has pins poised to prick their dream bubbles. Gaynor is right on the trail with us, spurring us on. You cannot miss the shine glancing off her vibrant cowboy boots, or the invitation she is holding out, for a life filled with passion and purpose.

Creative Awakenings: Envisioning the Life of Your Dreams Through Art

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists, Books/DVDs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sheri Gaynor’s Creative Awakenings

  1. Sheri says:

    WOOOOO HOOOO! I am sending you one big FEISTY hug of gratitude! What an amazing review Carol. I have little purple tears dropping in my morning java. I can’t thank you enough for this unsolicited testimonial. I am so touched. As for your comments on my “self-promotion,” I had to lol, as this remains my largest life hurdle, What you are seeing here is my biggest transformation to date. I come from a family of sales people…need I say more. I agree, we can find a way to kick up our heels and not walk over anyone else in the process. This is one woman celebrating another. As such…I will be adding your FANTABULOUS blog to my inspirational feisty females and posting your gorgeous review as well. Can ya feel the love! I hope so! Thanks again fellow feisty female!

  2. barb says:

    i can hardly wait to read sheri’s book and want to belong to the “feisty female” club! i can already feel the possibilities of the great times we can have washing the venues in which we meet with vibrant energy and color. ohhhh baby!

  3. Sheri says:

    Carol, thanks for adding the boots! You are a doll! Okay, so when can I come to Ontario????

  4. carolwiebe says:

    You are welcome ANYTIME, Sheri!

Leave a Reply

