Do You Want To See?

I just finished this little handmade art book . . . .  it’s about 4.5″ x 5.5″.

It cups nicely in the hand, and was created much like OVA.

This book was created for a dear friend whom I spent some time with this summer. She and her husband live close to the ocean. We were walking on the shore,  and a small boy asked us if we would like to see his starfish. This prompted a poem, and then the art book.

Front cover

Front and back cover

pp 01 ~ 02

pp 03 ~ 04

pp 05 ~ 06

pp 07 ~ 08

pp 09 ~ 10

Book from pages side

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Carol's poetry, Carol's Writing, Handmade Books and Journals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Do You Want To See?

  1. Dan Wiebe says:

    This is amazing Carol. It is a real honour to be able to see your beautiful work. And, through this, how your beautiful mind works.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Aw, shucks, do you say that to all your aunts?

      Seriously, Dan ~ you are one of the most creative people I know, and I love the way YOUR mind works. It was such a lovely surprise to find a comment from you , here.

      For anyone other than Dan, check out the following:
      House of Doc, myspace, and CBC 3.

  2. Bravo Carol! I am amazed at how quickly you work! I worked most of the summer on my visual art journal from scratch. I’ll be posting soon. I have Studio Tour this weekend! http://www.fasm.ca

  3. arlee says:

    Oh CAROL!!!!!!!!!!!! This is a truly magical one, poetry, appearance, technique, everything—your friend is very fortunate :)

  4. Carol, This book is incredibly beautiful. The textures and surfaces are wonderful. It’s brilliant, yummy:)

  5. diane kramer says:

    These are lovely Carol. they have your spirit all over them.
    I sure hope one day I too can make some books…you inspire me a lot!
    thank you.
    love
    di

  6. Carol Wiebe says:

    Oh, my, thank you all. I have to say that this little book was an absolute joy to make, and an even greater joy to send to my friend. She has it, now, and let me know that she was speechless when it arrived in her mailbox, as a total surprise. She used the word exquisite, which pleased me because it meant that the work resonated with her, as I hoped it would.

    This was a true gift of the heart, and I hope to do more work of that nature.

    Your comments urge me on. Merci, beaucoup.

  7. Carol Wiebe says:

    I must add a little plug . . . this work of my heart is also what I would like to teach. If you know of a venue, a place where we could gather and share our hearts desires using thread and paint, please let me know!

  8. Jan Wiebe says:

    Hi: I have just found your book on the Quilting Arts site. I am also a Wiebe and love making mixed media books- just finished one inspired by the movie “Picnic at Hanging Rock”. I live in Victoria, B.C. Canada- where are you?????

  9. wen Redmond says:

    beautiful, thank you for this wonderful book

Leave a Reply

