Entering the warrior’s world

does not mean having to accept violence as a way to deal with the challenges we encounter.

Rather, it means embracing whatever life presents us with courage, and using our creativity to transform our challenges into something meaningful, perhaps even beautiful.

I found the following quote on Sherri B.’s site:

Rejoicing in ordinary things is not sentimental or trite. It actually takes guts. Each time we drop our complaints and allow everyday good fortune to inspire us, we enter the warrior’s world. ~Pema Chödrön

Red Line

Red Line

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Entering the warrior’s world

  1. belletamaam says:

    Love Pema Chodron. Love this post. Sharing on FB!

  2. Sherri B. says:

    I’m so sorry I missed this earlier…I’m just now seeing it. I love your thoughts on this quote.

    • CarolWiebe says:

      It’s a powerful quote, Sherri, and your site is where I found it. I usually try to stay away from war imagery, so rather than waging a war on some issue or other, say greenhouse gases, I’d try to promote conscious living with our ecology in mind.
      But Pema Chödrön is talking about a mental/spiritual toughness, a stance that is willing to stand for certain beliefs, come what may. I’d personally rather be a shaman than a warrior, but I recognize some similarities between them.

Leave a Reply

