My Home Is My Canvas

My husband has been retired for some time, working valiantly on our house. It has required a great deal of attention: roofing, electrical, plumbing, walls to rip out and replace, insulation, floors to redo and renew, new furnace, new water softener, new air conditioner. It would be accurate and easier to say EVERYTHING has and is being redone. He is a consummate do-it-yourselfer, but it gets tiresome doing it all yourself.

Enter my retirement. I am working on the house as well, but Ted has brought the house to a place where I can do the more decorative elements ~ surface design.

Our entire home is now my canvas. Actually, it is more like a whole raft of canvases.

A challenge, and a joy.

Playing with cord

Here I am adding a celtic design to an interior window trim with cord and hot glue. Then I covered the result with premixed tile adhesive, let it dry and painted the result.

Window trim, painted

The result is a little “rough” but I am happy with it. If I wanted machine precision, I would have bought window trim.

I have the top section to do yet. It is curved to fit a big rounded window, so that will require quite a few more hours (days) of play, yet.

I am creating these window trim pieces on the front porch, because the glue stinks. People comment that I have so much patience, to which I reply:

“No, this is fun. What requires patience is housework.”

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Home Is My Canvas

  1. Having just bought a new (old) house and spent the summer beginning to make it our own, I know how much time this can take. I love that window trim. I never thought about using cord this way–and the result is just what I like with enough wabi sabi to let you know a machine did not make this.

    • CarolWiebe says:

      My husband cut the trim out of 1/2″ MDF and painted it. Then I created a stencil and painted it on with acrylic paint. I used a 1/8 ” nylon cord to outline the design and had trouble with fraying until I wrapped a small piece of masking tape around the end. I When I sized up a piece, I made sure the place I cut was in the middle of a piece of tape.

      Glad you like it!

  2. That is SOOOO clever!! Please show a photo of the window when it’s done Carol. I love it!

    • CarolWiebe says:

      Oh, my dear Flora, you are no stranger to house redoing, repairing, decorating, etc. I wanted the trim to look “carved” and this actually worked fairly well. I WILL put up a photo of the finished window. I can hardly wait until it’s done.

  3. Sherri B. says:

    How incredibly creative – it’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

