Banquets

I have been thinking and thinking about something for years now. Something crazy. Something I want to do, need to do.

Many signs have pointed the way: especially when I doubted whether this was the smartest way to go. I was afraid for my reputation, ha! As if I have much of a reputation to uphold. I am just a lone artist on a path to self understanding. A few others join me periodically, bless me with their interest, the fact that they care, then head off in their own directions.

Which is just as it should be.

Anyway, in a nut shell, I have some crochet projects I have to do. You heard that right, crochet. Hardly a fine arts endeavour, right? And I say, to hell with an endeavour having to be anything other than what the artist needs to do.

Am I going to tell you what I have to do? Absolutely not. This is really private stuff, that I’ll share after a lot of experimentation. I’ll maybe reveal a peak or two here and there but . . . . . I am not making any promises on that score.

And I will keep painting, keep making paper quilts, and paper jewelry, and vessels, and art pieces for my home, because I LOVE doing all these things, too.

I am willing to sit down at any and every banquet life spreads before me. And there are a lot of them.

I am lucky that way.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Banquets

  1. When I think of it, some of your photoshop-altered images are like crochet so somehow, it’s in your consciousness already!
    I like your attitude Carol because all endeavours are worthwhile as they stretch us into new directions.
    But please, share some of your discoveries with your public. ;)
    We’re waiting.

  2. belletamaam says:

    I’m a big fan of following your heART energy. I’m upcycling chairs at the moment, and this past week dipped back into jewelry…..but with jewelry I’m off after something different. I don’t know what that is yet. Art isn’t for the faint of heart for sure!

    • CarolWiebe says:

      I’m upcycling a chair myself. At least I hope so! It was broken in places, which my husband fixed, and I applied epoxy resin clay to a section to build it up. Then I’m applying papier mache all over. I will paint it when the kitchen is done and I know what patterns and colors I want to use beside a little table we’re putting at the one end.

      I totally agree. Art in NOT for the faint of heart. Especially for those who are following that heART energy you talk about. I can hardly wait to see what that “something different” in your jewelry is.

  3. Sherri B. says:

    If you feel the itch and the passion for it, I say go for it. :) I will look forward to anything you decide to share – enjoy your journey!

  4. CarolWiebe says:

    Sherri, anyone would benefit from having you on their support team. I love that combination of itch and passion: makes me laugh. One doesn’t usually equate the too. Passion is SO much loftier than an itch, dahling.

Leave a Reply

