Turning a doodle into a pattern

I’m going to start out with a less than remarkable doodle. Sometimes doodles really have zing! and you blink, shake your head and say, “Wow! How did this come out of that ho-hum meeting? ” Other times, I simply save them out of habit, or curiosity as to how I can fiddle with them and make something else.

The first pic is my original doodle. Then I fix it up, make it straight, refine a little in Photoshop Elements. I repeat the doodle for a full sheet of pattern.

Doodle 1 Doodle 1 a

Doodle 1 b
I can use the pattern just like this, collage it onto my painting or quilt, then paint it whatever color/s I like. Or I can apply it to an appropriate background, placing the background behind my design and ending up with something like this:

Doodle 1 c

The background is a photo I took of rust on a ship.

This process would make a wonderful workshop topic, which I would be happy to teach. Creating marks, doodling, fooling around, whatever you feel comfortable calling it . . . and then transforming the results into art papers that can be used in your work. You could also simply print out the black & white version and paint that, or use paintstiks, ink, whatever! Scan your results, and keep experimenting. It’s a bit like Alice down the rabbit hole: the adventure goes on and on! Time disappears. The wonderful difference is that when you ‘wake up,’ instead of disorientation, you have a bunch of original art papers!
About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Carol's Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turning a doodle into a pattern

  1. anangeli says:

    Very interesting. How do you reapeat the doodle in PSE? By copy/paste? Or is tehre another technique? I know about creating your own stamps, that is a good one also…

  2. carolwiebe says:

    Hi anangeli! I simply duplicate the layer of my doodle, then make it really large so that I can line up the two perfectly. At this point you need to figure out how many repeats will go across your page. Resize them until it looks good to you. Once they are lined up, merge the layers so they won’t move. You now have your first row, as one layer. Now duplicate this layer and put it below your first.
    Do this until you fill the page the other way. Then merge all these layers. You now have a full page. Does that answer your question?

Leave a Reply

