So Much Choice, So Little Time

I look at that title with consternation, but I’m going to let it stand. You see, I’m trying to look at time differently, to be less obsessive and protective of it, to flow into the time I have and refuse to waste it by worrying that what I want to achieve needs more of it. Somehow, my consciousness has registered that time needs befriending, that it reacts unfavorably to an adversarial approach. This may sound like I’m personifying time, but I’m trying to appreciate it’s true nature (more personifying!). Time can be very elastic. You can be in one place and imagine yourself so vividly in another, that it seems you are in two places at once. Maybe, in some significant way, you are.

Written in Stone ~ by Carol Wiebe

Written in Stone ~ by Carol Wiebe

So what do these musings have to do with art? I’m so glad you asked. As I said, I’m attempting to flow more with time, and as I loosen up and do that, everything else loosens as well. I tap into another way of thinking, of being, and time loses its relevance, clock time, that is. I may come out of such a session with great surprise at either how much time I spent, or how little, but in both cases the artwork I produced is very intriguing to me. I study it carefully to glean an understanding of where it came from, what it’s saying to me.

I don’t think our experiences are written in stone (the name of my piece above). They have more malleability than that.

Doo, doo, doo, doo. Sound somewhat mystical? I hope so . . . because that’s the territory I enjoy traveling in. Tell me about your experiences with time–your struggles, your triumphs, your understanding. I am VERY interested in your take on this.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So Much Choice, So Little Time

  1. Jeff says:

    I’ve been reading some interesting words from conversations between J Krishnamurti and a number of Buddhist scholars where Krishnamurti suggests that psychological time is the root of suffering. I think the general idea is that as long as we are concerned with becoming something then we are not with the moment, not with reality, not with ourselves, and essentially at war with what is, what we are, now. The suggestion is that we have unnecessarily, and to great damage, internalized the idea of time based on time as experienced in the external world. I am doing grave injustice to what I have read so I would recommend reading either of the following books.

    http://www.pathless.com/detail.asp?pageno=1&keyword=&title=&author=&manufacturer=&classification=conversation&category=english&product_id=ENUS-0080&sort=

    http://www.pathless.com/detail.asp?pageno=1&keyword=&title=&author=&manufacturer=&classification=conversation&category=english&product_id=ENIN-0022U&sort=

    (wpl has both these books)

  2. serendipidad says:

    “There are three monks, who had been sitting in deep meditation for many years amidst the Himalayan snow peaks, never speaking a word, in utter silence. One morning, one of the three suddenly speaks up and says, ‘What a lovely morning this is.’ And he falls silent again. Five years of silence pass, when all at once the second monk speaks up and says, ‘But we could do with some rain.’ There is silence among them for another five years, when suddenly the third monk says, ‘Why can’t you two stop chattering?”

    http://www.katinkahesselink.net/kr/jokes.html
    http://picasaweb.google.com/serendipidad0/FotosDeJidduKrishnamurti#

Leave a Reply

