Autumn Equinox Continues . . .

These pieces were all made using the same techniques that I used for “Autumn Equinox” in the June/July issue of Quilting Arts Magazine. They are smaller (8×8), but perhaps you have found, as I have, that a small piece can be as much a challenge as a larger one! I wanted to keep playing with the leaf/sun motifs, and did so in the first 2 pieces.

Autumn Equinox 2

Autumn Equinox 3

Femme Vitale

Stelle

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Autumn Equinox Continues . . .

  1. Patricia Fairbairn says:

    I now have another “great art blog” to keep up with. I just finished your article in Quilting Arts and was so impressed, I immediately had to look you up online. Not only do I feel incredibly excited while seeing your art, your blog is also captivating. I am one of those lurking in the background trying to feel out processes to try. I have only just started fiddling, but after seeing your website, I am ready to get to it! I love your colors, texture, depth, everything!! The world has another great and famous(infamous) artist. You are definitely going to go far. I’ll be watching!!

    Patty Fairbairn

  2. carolwiebe says:

    Thank you very much, Patricia. One of my passions is teaching, and to hear you say “I am ready to get to it,” after reading some of my methods and techniques, literally thrills me! Please email some of your results!

  3. Janet Silver says:

    Carol – “ditto” I too was thrilled to find you have an online presence so I can continue to follow your work and perhaps even communicate with you? (after reading your article in QA.) The instructions are good, but not as complete as I would like. I have printed out a few pictures onto tissue paper. I have several more sheets prepared for printing but altho I have life drawings, and images of older artwork, I dont seem to have motifs or even doodles appropriate for this technique! Can you elaborate about what type of images work best for this process?? Seems I need to come up with a few before I can jump into this process!
    A conversation with a 2D artist friend of mine clarified why canvas really wont work for this type of artwork, then I realized I can make my own wooden panels.(My friend prepares her own as supports for prints of her paintings – smaller/cheaper for sales)There’s a small partial sheet of mdf here that will provide several panels to get started. As a multimedia artist I am excited to find a way to incorporate fabric, free motion stitching, painting (and other media) and collage all together! Just my kind of fun! Oh, another question : can I use mod podge instead of matte medium for some parts of the process? I’ve been making floor cloths with decoupaged fabrics and it seems to me like it should work for part of the process.(it does make surfaces stiff tho) Thanks so much, Janet Silver

  4. carolwiebe says:

    Janet, I think ANY kind of image will work for this process! The beauty is that you can paint over anything that doesn’t work, or add other images later. I think life drawings would work wonderfully: I have some myself, and have incorporated them into a few pieces.

    I agree about the canvas–it has too much give. That’s why I chose the wooden panels.

    I’m afraid I can’t comment on the mod podge, except to say that if it is like white glue, I would prefer the acrylic medium. I have worked a lot with white glue, and it dries less clear, and much stiffer, than the acrylic medium for combining tissue paper and fabric. I also use as thin a cotton fabric as I can find for my base.

    I’d love to see some of your art pieces after you are done!

  5. I’ve only just discovered your blog..I loved your article in QA, and have only just connected the dots to the wonderful works of yours at the Fusion show. It’s a real honour to have been on the same walls as you! Your work is gorgeous, and I appreciate your inspiring words.
    Veronica Richmond,
    Oakville

Leave a Reply

