Paper Quilts! I’m smitten!

Something happened to me at that Fran Skiles workshop while we were cutting, ripping, burning, painting, inking, monoprinting, gluing, crumpling, folding, stitching, and who knows what else to paper: I FELL IN LOVE WITH PAPER, all over again!

How could I forget my childhood sweetheart? The one I cozied up to any chance I got, and produced pictures with my trusty Laurentian Pencil Crayons (I received a new box every September). I have WAY more stuff to use on paper now!

I cannot explain this urge. Yes, I was already adding paper to my art quilts. But I have gone several steps beyond, perhaps several leaps, and am now obsessed with all that I can do with this humble material. Fancy bought papers? Not for me. I have to create the surfaces, just as I have done with cloth. Plain white copy paper, plain white tissue. These are my chosen main materials. I do continue to glue the paper to a plain cotton fabric (with acrylic medium), but it is simply used for strength. I’ll be posting a few pics as soon as they come off the assembly line (ha!ha!).

I’ve noticed that Judy Coates Perez is into the paper quilt thing in a big way, as well. I especially love what she calls Illustrated Document Number 1. She also has a Mixed Media Paper Quilt # 2, and 3.

Teesha Moore has a charming one.

WaterRose shares a very unique paper quilt (hint: Martha Stewart is involved).

As usual, Cyndi has an excellent tutorial.

Deb Silva has a gorgeous paper quilt on her Creatively Amused blog.

I’m intrigued with Dawn Wilson’s work.

Linda M has made a quilt where the top and batting are entirely made of paper (What’s your Fortune?).

Jackie Gardener is doing some wonderful work in paper quilts as well.

OK, I can stop thinking I have to explain, or worry about facing totally incredulous faces, or questions like “Why would you use paper when there is so much gorgeous fabric available?” All I can say is, paper has a different feel, both physically and psychologically. And thanks to acrylic medium, all your manipulations and treatments are preserved . . . for posterity!

Below is my first paper top quilt. It’s about 30″ long, 24″ wide. I’ve kept the edges a little rougher than I used to: I like the way the threads catch the paint and medium to give a “deckled” edge. I call the piece Nest.

Nest

Here is a detail.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists, Carol's Art, Paper arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Paper Quilts! I’m smitten!

  1. arlee says:

    I understand. I can’t explain the attraction either. Maybe it’s a more instant gratification, even when we spend hours and hours getting the paper just right :} It just seems so much more malleable –in many senses–and it’s available everywhere!!!
    Let’s see some of yours now!

  2. waterrose says:

    Thank you for including me in this lovely article. Isn’t paper wonderful? My love also began as a child with my paper dolls and cutting random things out of catalogs and magazines to furnish their living quarters. I’m going to add your link to my blog, since I want to come back and visit.

  3. judy says:

    Hi Carol, you know what I think it is, paper is more forgiving and easier to work with than fabric in many ways. It is easier to draw and paint on, more media will work with it. But the fabric makes it stronger and easier to sew, the combination of the two is really irresistible.

  4. carolwiebe says:

    Judy, I think that’s absolutely it! I’m finding myself so energized and enticed by that combination.

    Arlee has asked me to show what I’ve done: well, it’s only been a few weeks since the Fran Skiles workshop, which awakened this happy obsession, but I have finished one (and have 5 others in various states of completion). It’s about 30″long and 26″ wide. My tentative title is Nest. I’ll post it tonight!

  5. arlee says:

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing that——wow!!!! Reminds me of a shield too—protecting home/the nest.

  6. deb silva says:

    Hi!!
    I just found this post and wanted to let you know I’m honored to be mentioned!
    oxooo
    deb

  7. Pingback: A Class Act « Silverspring Studio

  8. dawn wilson says:

    Thanks for including me in the post! It is so great to see so many artists experimenting with paper quilts!

    • carolwiebe says:

      You are such a sweetie! I appreciate people who keep track of things, and let others know when appropriate!

  9. Lady Re Bluebird says:

    This is so lovely. I would love to see more images of your paper quilt. I have an upcoming art exhibition in May and am trying to see if there is a way I can combine paintings I´ve made in the past into a new quilt & am so inspired by what I am seeing out there. I would love to know how you attatch the various pieces together. Thanks!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Thank you! I do have some videos that go into great detail about how I do things!

      They are posted to the Quilting Arts site (search for Cracked Paper Quilts, or Carol Wiebe). I have also written a few articles for Quilting Arts, which explain my methods.

      Vimeo is another place to find the videos.

Leave a Reply

