Find patterns EVERYWHERE 2

On a previous post, I showed a design that I created from a digital pic of ice on the table on our front porch. I use Photoshop Elements because it is easy, fun, affordable, and meets my current needs. I photograph paper towels, dried paint, just about anything that catches my fancy, and take it into Photoshop Elements. As an artist who uses collage, I am constantly needing and using what I call “art papers.” Because of the ease and FUN of this process, I have many MANY exclusive, personally designed art papers at my disposal, all of which can easily be transformed to customize their size and color as needed. Such fabulousness!

As I cleaned up my paint tray the other day, I saw a stamp impression . .

My paint tray with a stamp impression left in it

My paint tray with a stamp impression left on it

So, of course, I snapped a pic and created a number of art papers. The following is an example:

Branches art paper

Branches art paper

I called it “Branches,” but it could fit quite nicely into a piece where I want subtle X and O patterns:

black and white version

Branches art paper: black and white version

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Carol's Art, Paper arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Find patterns EVERYWHERE 2

  1. Tammy Vitale says:

    Wow! what a very cool process! Who would think that one image would make up into such an awesome pattern. It’s sorta like mosaics I see folks doing from time to timeon the computer. Love the concept!

  2. Carol Wiebe says:

    It’s quite addictive, Tammy. But because it’s so useful (providing you with a wealth of art papers for collage, paper quilting, etc.) it is perfectly justified! An added bonus is that as you keep “fooling around” you learn to use the software effectively.

Leave a Reply

