Capturing an image

It’s the last day before September, the month that has always felt like the beginning of a new year for me.  Many years of schooling, and then teaching, have ensured that my emotional New Year’s Day is the first day of school. As a symbol of the new year, I choose this flying crow. I have a thing for crows: anyone who has even glimpsed at my work can attest to this fact. My initials could be a factor: CAW.

Why crows? There are many reasons: crows are intelligent, with complex vocalizations. Often associated with death, probably because they eat carrion, crows and ravens are also considered messengers of transformative knowledge, and revealers of secrets. Cheryl has written some interesting articles about crows: The Crow in World Mythology, Crows in Art, Decorating with Crows, The Science of Crows, and Crows in Literature.

Many people have an irrational hate for these birds. Taking pictures of them prompted a number of caustic remarks, such as “Why would you waste film on those filthy things?” Such emotional reactions interest me: there is something powerful at work. And I have no film to waste with a digital camera!

Crow in flight

Crow in flight

My camera, whose small size allows it to be taken anywhere with ease, does not seem to allow me to “capture” crows. I will need to query a few of my photographer friends to determine if anything besides a bigger, better camera can amend this quandary. However, I developed a strategy of walking up to them slowly, aiming my camera above them, and clicking just as they became uncomfortable with my presence. A couple of times, I actually captured a crow in flight!

That flow of feathers is gorgeous, isn’t it?

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Capturing an image

  1. jude says:

    thanks for commenting on my blog, your work is wonderful, and this crow, what a photo!…i am just starting to focus on bird images for a new project.

  2. Tammy Vitale says:

    Love crows. Love their darkness. Love the Morrigan, a triple goddess with whom they are associated. And that photo! wow! well done!

  3. carolwiebe says:

    Thanks for the Morrigan tip. More info is here http://celtopedia.druidcircle.net/index.php?title=Morrigan
    and in Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morr%C3%ADgan

    I was excited about the photo: the wings are arched so beautifully, aren’t they? Dark grace.

  4. Aries says:

    Hello,

    I love the crow in flight image and would like to know if I can have permission to use it for my webpage…I’m selling classic vehicles and this picture is perfect.

    I found this image on BING.COM while I was searching for crow images…
    This particular piece….CROW IN FLIGHT seems just right.

    I look forward hearing back from you soon….

    Thank you!

    Aries

  5. carolwiebe says:

    Aries, go ahead. I really like the image too, and would appreciate your giving me credit for being the photographer. Drop me a line after you add it so that I can see how you’ve used it!

  6. Aries says:

    A MILLION THANK U’s !!!! WOW !!! I do appreciate you allowing me to use your photograph… This is my first time requesting something like this… And I’m just curious, do I need an authorization form by you in order to give me permission to use your photograph?

    I just want to make sure I’m not breaking any copyright laws…etc.

    Thanks again!

    Aries

    P.S… The flying crow will be used for my webpages right above a classic vehicle and the name…

    KING CROW CLASSICS….The flying crow is perfect! By the way, where would I put your name? How close does it have to be in proximity to your photo?

    Or can I put your credit anywhere on the webpage…

    Just curious…and THANKS AGAIN!

  7. Zahara says:

    Hello, I happened by your blog ’cause I just wrote a little crow story and was looking for an image. Nice picture! I won’t steal it, back to clip art, unless I have your permission?

  8. Ostrich says:

    Heya. I like crows, and that’s a lovely image. I hope you’ll not mind that I used it as reference for a digital painting. I wanted a nice crow pose, and this one works so well. You can see the result at http://www.furaffinity.net/full/5652917/

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Proper protocol (and respect for fellow artists) would give credit to the artist you took the image from.

  9. M. V. says:

    Hello CAW. I have been considering getting a tattoo of a crow for some time, for many of the reasons you list: their intelligent nature, the air of mystery that surrounds them, as well as in part their symbolism of death (to remind myself of the inevitability of death and not to fear it). I have yet to find an image of a crow that I would be more satisfied to have on my body for the rest of my life than this beautiful shot. I would like to ask your permission to use this image, which so perfectly captures the elegance and beauty of these amazing birds. Thanks!

  10. nicolasloan says:

    I was just going to ask if you minded me possibly using the pose for a tattoo, but I see someone has beat me to it! It really is a lovely shot, very graceful. The crescent shape is a very nice visual :) I’m hoping neither of you would mind if I used it as tattoo inspiration as well. I absolutely love crows they are such clever and funny little characters. We had an older pair (still around I think) that lived at my mom’s and they used to sit on a branch in the rain and put their heads together like they were kissing. But whenever you tried to take a picture they always scooted apart!

    • CarolWiebe says:

      Go right ahead! I only ask that you send me a pic of your results–it would bring me great pleasure to see what you did with the image.

Leave a Reply

