Crochet, I say!

I found this pic on Joana Vasconcelos‘ site, and it reminded me, once again, why I love crochet. It is completely adaptable to a myriad of applications. Say, for instance, that you want to cover a piano . . . . Joana is really “out there,” which I admire and enjoy. She lists “piano” on her material list. Hilarious: how many artists get to do that? Below the piano and stool, see her crocheted dining suite. Don’t stand too close to this dynamo, or you may find yourself ensconced in yarn!

Crocheted piano and bench

Crocheted piano and bench by Joana Vasconcelos

Crocheted suite

Crocheted suite by Joana Vasconcelos

I have employed crochet in many ways. A few years ago, I made little stitched bags of cotton, joining the fronts and backs with crochet; the strap was crocheted also. For a while I made crocheted neckpieces, which I then embroidered and beaded.

These days, as I am totally enamored with paper quilting, I sometimes use crochet as an edging or even a binding, two of my favorite methods. Crochet is infinitely versatile, as the hook can be inserted anywhere and a stitch begun. I also recently devised a way to use crochet in my hanging devices for my quilts.

For now, I’ll show you a few of those neckpieces:


Crocheted, embroidered, beaded neckpiece with papier mache inclusion

Crocheted, embroidered, beaded neckpiece with papier mache inclusion

Crocheted, embroidered, beaded neckpiece with papier mache inclusion

Crocheted, embroidered, beaded neckpiece with papier mache inclusion

Crocheted, embroidered neckpiece, side a

Crocheted, embroidered reversible neckpiece, side a

Crocheted, embroidered reversible neckpiece, side b

Crocheted, embroidered reversible neckpiece, side b

I also love using crochet in my mixed media art quilts: see Workshops and Presentations for Quilting Meets Crochet!

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists, Carol's Art, Crochet, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Crochet, I say!

  1. Patricia says:

    Gives ‘Piano Scarf’ a whole new meaning! And I thought I was obsessed with crochet. Thanks for the great pic and info!

  2. Pingback: Quilts Incarnate: a solo show « Silverspring Studio

  3. Christine says:

    About the piano and dining room suite: That’s incredible. Just incredible.

  4. Reinita says:

    Beautiful projects! Even non-crocheters will have an idea of the work involved but those of us who have completed much smaller projects really appreciate the effort involved in such a complex project. Well done! Thank you for showing it to us all.

  5. craftylee says:

    i love Joana’s work! you can see more of her work on this video done by KQED:
    http://www.kqed.org/arts/programs/gallerycrawl/profile.jsp?essid=17283

  6. mand says:

    Ye gods.

    I came here from the Talking Crochet link. In fact i nearly didn’t come on the computer at all this evening, certainly wasn’t expecting to see a piano in crochet. I can’t imagine making anything like that!

  7. Erin Zupp says:

    This is the greatest piece I have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Yeah for you! How long did the piano scarf take? Absolutly fabulous!!!!! I’ve been crocheting for over 20 years and this is the most fantastic piece. I bet your home is just beautiful with all your crocheting. Now you’ve got my Creative Process ticking!!!!! You go girl!!!!!!! Can’t wait to see more.

  8. Jan says:

    Piano Scarf is simply a work of art. Incredible and beautiful. Thank you for such creative juices that must be flowing through you.
    It is a joy to see your work.

  9. carolwiebe says:

    Erin and Jan: I have some of my crochet work displayed here (the neckpieces), and I use crochet in my mixed media pieces, but the piano & stool, and the dining room suite are not my work, they are the work of Joana Vasconcelos. I was astounded as you are! Can you imagine the time and dexterity it must have taken to produce such pieces?

  10. scvopat says:

    all I want to know is what patterns where used, and where can I find them.

  11. Felicity says:

    It crocheted piano cover is very beautiful and it would have taken a long time to do it. Thanks for sharing. it give us ideas

  12. Della says:

    I hate to sound stupid, but is that a real piano or a small one for a dollhouse? Same for the table and chairs. Either way, they’re incredible.
    However, I was really blown away by the neckpieces!!!I’m sure the pictures don’t do them justice, but I get the idea. Fabulous! I would LOVE to be able to do something like that.

  13. carolwiebe says:

    They are “real” size! Oh, and thanks so much for noticing the neckpieces. I was totally into making them for a while, and designed way more of them than I could possibly ever make!

  14. Trish says:

    I thought it was for a doll house!! If the piano is real size, does it actually play? Trish

  15. Linda says:

    I am a pianist AND a crocheter…Would never do this to our piano, but what a work of art! Fantastic!

  16. Linda says:

    I too came here from talking crochet link.
    I love your neckpieces.
    But the “piano cozy” was really the cat’s pajamas!
    thanks for posting them. Linda

  17. Veronica V. Narvaez says:

    I love the piano and dining suite covers… they are AWESOME!!
    Jojo

  18. Karen says:

    Your piano cover is absolutely fabulous. If you don’t mind my asking, how long did this wonderful piece take you? Your neckpieces are also fabulous. I love to crochet myself. One day I’ll make a piece as great as your piano cover. Thanks for sharing your great skill.

  19. carolwiebe says:

    Karen, the piano cover is not my work: I put the name of the artist underneath, as well as a link to her site. She is an amazing woman with quite an intellectual approach to her art. The neckpieces are mine, however. They took me quite a while to make: I can’t imagine the time it took to cover a grand piano with crochet. Do you think she has crochet assistants?

Leave a Reply

