New Paper Quilts Are On Their Way!

I am putting the finishing touches on several new paper quilts, which I’ve been working on all at once for my solo show (coming up October 3!). I will be posting the pics very soon.

In the meantime, I discovered an artist named Mai-Liis Chaska Peacock, and she does mixed media assemblage, collage, and art dolls. I am especially taken with her shrines and icon dolls. I found her when I watched The Promise, a video by the amazing Karen Landey of Indie Arts: the DVD Magazine. As I commented on Landey’s site, the video is haunting and dreamlike, evoking emotions of longing and poignancy in the viewer. So lovely!

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Paper Quilts Are On Their Way!

  1. Karen Landey says:

    Hi Carol,

    I love your artwork and thank you for your kind words about INDIE ARTS. My hope is that people find the courage to listen to their hearts and follow their dreams. It is not an easy path to take, but its well worth the journey!

    Karen Landey, Producer

  2. Tammy Vitale says:

    Thanks for sharing MaiLiis work! it is wonderful! You might also enjoy visiting a local artist here in Southern Maryland who does similar wonderful work , Julia Musengo,http://www.optomystics.com. I own several of her altars and two of her large paintings. I think she’s amazing! Isn’t it wonderful to have such other inspirations to enjoy?! Artists are the best!

Leave a Reply

