Hold On!

I am approaching this “financial crisis” as an opportunity for re-committing myself to what is most important in my life. I have been hearing the inner whisperings of pursuing a simpler, less cluttered lifestyle for some time, and that is definitely happening now.

But my main focus is on the riches in my life: my wonderful partner, my creative and intelligent children, my beautiful grandchildren, my amazing and talented friends, the art that brings me such joy. The spirit that is within me shines as brightly today as it did yesterday, if not brighter, and I look forward to following the path it lights before me. My life is full.  Fear, guilt, and blame are only as strong as the energy I give them. Why would I even glance in their direction when I have the fantastic view of all the riches I just described?

Keep your eyes on the prize, hold on, hold on.

I already have that prize. So I am holding onto that pearl of great price (a whole necklace, actually), and letting the panic and fear dissolve around me like darkness when the light switch is turned on. And who turns on the switch? I do. Every time I feel swallowed by the dark, I look for the switch. The great thing is, I’m a lot faster at finding it than I once was, and art has a lot to do with that.

Robert Genn has some nice, concise advice:

Recessions are blessings. Historically, recessions and depressions have been times when “important” work gets made. Realistically, our financial outlay for equipment and art materials (unless your medium is gold) is relatively minor. In hard times artists need to get themselves as debt free as possible and invest in the joy of their vision.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hold On!

  1. artylicious says:

    “I have been hearing the inner whisperings of pursuing a simpler, less cluttered lifestyle for some time”

    Thank you for articulating something that I too have been feeling. I found your blog recently and find your style and colours incredibly inspiring and exciting. You come across as a wise and centered person who is fulfilled by your art. I can’t tell you how inspiring that is for people like me who feel they can and will get there, but haven’t quite made it yet!

    thank you
    Glenda

  2. carolwiebe says:

    You are very kind. I am very fulfilled by my art. I am also so fortunate to have a completely supportive partner, who understands the powerful need I have to grow spiritually: a need supported by reading books, doing art, and interacting with others. I absolutely believe you have made it, Glenda, as have I, to the point where we are right now, and that it is exactly where we are supposed to be. These are not glib words, but a deep commitment to practicing, simultaneously, acceptance and joyful expectation. They are not mutually exclusive.

  3. Tammy Vitale says:

    Wonderful post. Provocative in a great way. I too have been pulled toward simplicity – although I see nothing simply in an artist’s life. But perhaps I’ve been looking through the wrong lens. I will revisit and think about it all. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

