Such Wild Love

Mary Oliver, in her inimitable way, admits to emotions of wild love towards the sun:

and have you ever felt for anything
such wild love–
do you think there is anywhere, in any language,
a word billowing enough
for the pleasure

that fills you,
as the sun
reaches out,
as it warms you

as you stand there,
empty-handed . . .

Over the top? Our life depends on that fiery orb, and who has not felt a wonderful lift when sunlight broke through the clouds after a week of drizzle and rain? A billowing pleasure, indeed.

Today the neighbor’s tree seems to have captured the sun within its branches: the yellows and reds glow like fire. It is not just an artist’s spirit that is lifted and carried aloft by such a glorious display of color.

A small portion of the tree's glorious display

A small portion of the tree's glorious display

A single leaf

A single leaf

I love the way this leaf is framed within the pavement by a triangle of cracks. Somehow it is fitting that a drying leaf comes to rest on cracked pavement. I find the textures pleasing as well.

In a very short time, Photoshop Elements provides the beginning of a design. I shall work more on this, later.

As above, so below

As above, so below

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Inspiration, Photoshop Elements and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Such Wild Love

  1. Hi Carol, I was admiring the fall colours as we drove home today from Lake Erie. The weather has been glorious. My favourite thing to do is sit on the deck at the cottage and look at the trees and feel the warm breeze. Ahh, just makes you feel so alive. My question is: do you recommend Photoshop elements? What can you do with it? Where do I get it? I have a new laptop and I am ready to do more in my art work with this technology. Hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving. Donna I loved your show at Greenwood. Telling all my friends.

  2. carolwiebe says:

    Yes, Donna, I unabashedly and whole-heartedly recommend Photoshop Elements. I use it all the time. It is a source of constant fun and pleasure, which I have totally incorporated into my art. It is not nearly so difficult as Photoshop, which~for many people~needs specific training to grasp, unless you have worked with imaging software a lot. But PE is not Mickey Mouse: it is a powerful program that can do a lot for you.

    On top of all that, it is affordable!

    Back to fall and all her glory: she is such a feast for the eyes!

Leave a Reply

