The Pearl Within

I am reading The Quiet Girl, by Peter Hoeg, who has a very unique voice. At the moment, I am deliciously mesmerized by it. Here is a quote from page 33:

[S]ometimes the longing is greater than you are. And if you choke it, you’ll be destroyed.

It immediately brought to mind the design paper I created today, fittingly enough, from a photo of the crucifix fish. You should not be able to choke longing that is greater than you are,  but many know from personal experience that it is, sadly, possible. Longing of that magnitude is a pearl within. It must be honored, or a shriveling of the spirit results. So why would someone deny their longing?  Longing can be terrifying: what if we fail? What if we find out we can’t do or have what we long for? I believe that it is essential to express and try to fulfill such longing. That alone is a worthy pursuit, independent of success or failure.

The Pearl Within

The Pearl Within

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Books/DVDs, Carol's Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Pearl Within

  1. tammy vitale says:

    hmm. choking the longing…the sentence is provocative and lends itself to meditation. I believe we are given longing for a reason…I have been known to ignore mine (in the past). I don’t now. It certainly enlarges my life, figuring out how to follow the longing’s direction. sometimes it doesn’t work and I pout but the longing remains and sooner or later (alas more later than sooner) I realize I’m stuck and need to move again. 2009 is about moving again. Lovely post!

  2. You have such a way with words. I came to say thank you for a blog comment but most of all to say thank you for what you said about shadows. I may have to quote you in a future journal shadow page. May I?

    • carolwiebe says:

      Hello, Sharon! I would be honored to have you quote my words. After 2 years of blogging, I am still amazed at the dialogue with artists that the Internet facilitates!

Leave a Reply

