White Rooms

But now I saw that .  .  .  she, and maybe every other person, was like row upon row of white rooms. You can go together through some of them, but they have no end, and you cannot accompany anyone through them all.

                                 ~Peter Høeg (Borderliners,  p. 157 )

Novels and poetry are great art activators for me. Some lines are like start buttons: the images just start flowing, accompanied by a feeling so deep it is challenging to try and express why those words evoked that feeling. But when you read the words to another, and recognize their reaction, you have entered a white room together.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Books/DVDs, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to White Rooms

  1. tammy vitale says:

    Oh so true! Makes me want to go pull out my poetry books (or even run back through some of mine – the more obtuse ones. They take me right back to where I was when I was writing them which is very evocative). How wonderful: white rooms!

  2. arlee says:

    I had friends who lived in an enormous old 1870’s apartment above a store, and they had painted one room entirely white, walls, floor and ceiling and put nothing in it but a white cushion and a black sphere. I spent hours in there at a very terrible time in my life.

    It was a new beginning.

    • carolwiebe says:

      Arlee, what you were going through is none of my business, but I have to ask why your friends had such a room. For meditation purposes?

  3. arlee says:

    Nope, strictly because they were arty types and ahead of their time–that was in 1980.

  4. Pingback: White Rooms « Daily Design Papers

Leave a Reply

