Wild Desire

Standing amidst her long limbed sisters, she was certain that
if she was tapped a glowing sap would flow from her being.
It would taste like contentment, with a lingering note of wild desire.

17.75” (l) x 24” (w)

The figure in this paper quilt may appear far too serene to be harboring wild desire. But by becoming one with her “sister trees,” she has fulfilled her desire and reached a state of contentment. Her hands, a nest in themselves, cradle a bird’s nest, which holds three eggs. A bird has honored her stillness. A lingering note of wild desire still remains; who knows when it will be resurrected from its quiescence.

This is a dream quilt, and I interpret it as an encouragement to reach out, go out on a limb, honor my wild desires. The bird symbolizes, in part, the freedom to do just that, to fly in the face of limiting fears. From what the young woman is holding in her hands, it appears that daring these things will provide nurture for my spirit, and contentment.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Cracked Paper Quilts, Inspiration, Paper arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wild Desire

  1. tammy vitale says:

    wow – the story that goes with the quilt is lyrical and haunting…it actually changes the way I see the quilt. I see a girl right before she blooms – very spring – like the trees right before the green starts showing. Awesome!

  2. Carol Wiebe says:

    Tammy, you are such a love. I always enjoy your stories. That is one of the things we have in common, thinking in images and stories.

  3. barb says:

    oh my, this one takes my breath away for more reasons than one! the female as a rooted tree that is content, but still possessing wild desire, is wonderful.

  4. Carol Wiebe says:

    Barb, you are a constant inspiration to me . . .

  5. I like the arrangement of shapes. Catches the eye. Isn’t fun to make art?

  6. Lovely work Carol! I love the trees in the background. It would certainly fit the Threadworks Theme, Trees for 2010!

  7. Stacy says:

    Beautiful paper quilt. I love the colors, the trees, and especially the little bird’s nest. This is a lovely sentence, “… she was certain that if she was tapped a glowing sap would flow from her being.” Thanks for brightening my morning.

  8. carolwiebe says:

    Hmmm, thanks Donna, I didn’t even think of that!

    Stacy: I really liked your “Words that stay with you” post.
    http://www.goldenbirdknits.com/2009/03/words-that-stay-with-you.html

    I have the Gilbert speech all ready to go on one of my drafts. I think a lot of bloggers are posting about that amazing speech. It was so stirring! And I am HAPPY to brighten your morning any time!

  9. elena says:

    It filled me with pleasure immediately-powerful lovely.

Leave a Reply

