Inner Exploration Through Touch Drawing

Deborah Koff-Chapin was engaged in “revelatory play” when she discovered an approach to drawing which she dubbed “Touch Drawing.” That was in 1974. Since then, she has presented Touch Drawing at conferences and institutions all over the world. She began a Center for Touch Drawing, and also teaches at the Omega Institute.  You may recognize the title of her deck, Soul Cards 1 and Soul Cards 2. Visit her gallery, or see her in action, creating a Touch Drawing. If that is not enough, a DVD entitled Through the Veil, the Story of Touch Drawing shows Deborah creating several Touch Drawings.

Touch Drawing by Deborah Koff-Chapin. Used with permission.

Touch Drawing by Deborah Koff-Chapin. Used with permission.

This is how Deborah describes Touch Drawing:

Touch Drawing is a simple, direct and profound process. The technique involves moving the hands on a sheet of paper which has been placed over a smooth surface of oil paint. The resulting impressions are seen upon lifting the page. A multitude of images are born from within through the touch of the fingertips. What emerges is a visual journal of a deep inner process.

You can join her Touch Drawing Community and buy her Facilitator Workbook or Touch Drawing Handbook, Drawing Out Your Soul.

Whichever way you choose to engage with Deborah Koff-Chapin and the products she offers, you will be struck by her earnestness and commitment to being an instrument for spiritual growth:

Touch Drawing is so simple. Roll some paint onto a smooth surface, place a piece of paper on top, move your hands on the page and lift it off to see the completed drawing… How much can it take to teach it? If this was all there was, it would be just another crafty technique. But Touch Drawing is also an interior process; a state of openness to the Self that can take one through emotional transformation and deeper; into communion with the archetypal realm and the divine source.

Moontime. Touch Drawing by Deborah Koff-Chapin. Used with permission.

Moontime. Touch Drawing by Deborah Koff-Chapin. Used with permission.

Intrigued? Does something in you respond to the directness and simplicity of this approach? Golden Open Acrylics can take the place of the oil paint. A plexiglass plate can be brayered with printing ink. Rice paper works as well as tissue paper. There are many options.

See where touch takes you.



About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Artists, Books/DVDs, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inner Exploration Through Touch Drawing

  1. Love this article and it’s contents Carol. I have seen the soul cards and never knew the story behind the images. It’s a beautiful thing…her entire process.

    While typing this comment I glance down to catch my next thought(they fly through so quickly, I can’t remember them) and notice my “Huetogo” shirt had text on the wrist edge of the sleeve that says “agree with your imagination”.

    • carolwiebe says:

      I’ve heard of wearing your heart on your sleeve . . .

      Seriously, glancing down like that and seeing such a clear message would really speak to me, especially if I had never noticed it before! The funny thing is, I started thinking about all the ways people don’t agree with their imaginations, saying or thinking things like, “It’s JUST my imagination,” or “That CAN’T be true,” or “That would NEVER happen.”

      Unless it’s negative, of course. Then people assume it’s going to happen. Backwards–it’s completely backwards to trust the bad over the good.

      By the way, I’m reading a book about trusting the imagination right now. So I also take that message, since you sent it to me, as a message for myself. We are SO in sync, dahling! (My hand is up, my pinkie is poised, and I have a VERY sophisticated expression on my face–as I am sure, do you.)

  2. Carol
    LOL
    When I purchased that shirt two years ago I’m sure I saw the sleeve and it’s probably what attracted it to me (see how I said that?. I just hadn’t remembered until ma/pa God dropped a ton of bricks on my head last week while writing my first comment.

    Ouch, it’s not that I have no trust for my imagination, I completely agree with it. Following it is quite a different matter, imagination is a habit. With any daily task or habit…….i.e. brushing teeth, washing face, cooking, etc….I wouldn’t set my wristwatch by the time of day I accomplish these tasks.

    A wristwatch has never been a part of my wardrobe, I always know what time it is. That is how keen my sense of time has developed by not following a schedule.

    I have created an intentional space for my imaginary life. Tell me what you want and I would like to conduct an experiment with my Manifest Mastermind exercise that I just learned. I can manifest something for you by doing a simple exercise but you have to tell me what it is that you want to happen.

    • carolwiebe says:

      OK, Chris– I’ll bite. I would love to teach a workshop on Paper Quilting, outside my home studio.

      Give that a go. I intentionally double dare you! Oh, and if you are also on the roster for said workshop, all the better!

Leave a Reply

