Donna Funnell Offers Art From the Heart

I had a most pleasant afternoon, on Saturday, April 4, attending the Opening of  Fibre Art from the Heart, the current show at Greenwood Quiltery. It features the work of Donna Funnell, whose art quilts are recognized for their intense colour and creative embellishment with paint, threads and beads. We were so sophisticated, dahling, imbibing wine, nibbling on crackers and cheese, and discussing our creative endeavors while enjoying the display of Donna’s. The show runs until  April 30, 2009.

Donna’s work can be seen online at Fiber Arts/Mixed Media and FibreJournal, where she has added photos of the entire show. This woman is organized!

Donna and I have come to know each other through various shows we’ve both entered. Donna has a quiet, modest way about her but she has a great deal of experience and expertise that becomes evident as you converse with her. I feel confident saying that taking a class taught by her would be well worth the investment.

My favorite piece in the show was “Another Door Opens.” This solo show should prove to be a door opener for further Funnell happenings.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Donna Funnell Offers Art From the Heart

  1. tammy vitale says:

    you know, if folks had been doing this kind of fiber art when I was playing with quilting, my artistic journey would have been entirely different….I would have stayed with fiber. I think the beaded cabachon necklaces are taking me back in that direction.

  2. Carol Wiebe says:

    Tammy, that sounds like a story I would like to hear: how you started quilting and why you stopped. What lead you to clay? Now you are morphing into the beaded cabachon necklaces. I am always interested in someone’s art journey!

  3. Thanks so much Carol for coming to my show and putting kind comments on your blog! Hugs, Donna

Leave a Reply

