The Three ONLY Things

Leah Piken Kolidas really flipped a switch in my psyche. When I responded to her Robert Moss interview in March, it reawakened an interest in the power of dreams.

I immediately pulled old dream books off my shelf, and put a few new ones on hold at my public library. Soon, I had The Three ‘Only’ Things in my hands, and was avidly devouring it. The subtitle identifies what those three things are:  Tapping the power of Dreams, Coincidence & Imagination.

Amazon offers a summary, but I think this section says it all:

According to Robert Moss, it is ONLY through dreams, coincidence, and the workings of imagination that we begin to remember that there is a world beyond the obvious one, a world where we reawaken to who we are and what we are meant to become. Reawakening to this world, and living fully in it, is like awakening to a world of colour from black and white. The Three “Only” Things offers practical ways to make our dreams, imagination, and coincidences more powerful and active in our lives. The techniques take only a few minutes a day, but have amazing results.

Deanna Joseph, the Inspiration Editor at Bella Online, was so impressed that she said: ” Honestly, if there was an instruction book handed out at our birth, it should be this one!”

You may be wondering just who this Robert Moss is. He is a world authority on dreams, a bestselling novelist, and a former foreign correspondent and professor of ancient history. In The Secret of the Three Only Things, Moss reveals a major flaw in the approach that so many have attempted to adopt (Hint: the title of the book is the first two words of the title of this small essay):

The great secret of fulfilling our heart’s desires and living in joy and abundance is an open secret. It is a power to be claimed as soon as we awaken to its existence and adopt the tools and habits required to bring it through.

The lesser secret involves the law of attraction: whatever we think or feel strongly, the universe says yes. If we carry around feelings of failure or dread, the world will give us lots of reasons to feel those things. If we follow our creative passions and are willing to make a leap of faith, the universe will support us and will bring us resources and opportunities in magical ways.

The greater secret is that to work the law of attraction successfully, we need to be aware of which part of us is doing the willing and choosing, and we need to develop a practice that engages the body and the larger self, not merely the calculating ego.

That calculating ego is superb at tripping up our good intentions. Why would we want to manifest something that is not, in the long run, for our own good? We have all struggled to differentiate between wants and needs. As an artist and poet, I am always seeking to reveal the essence of things. Whatever tools I can utilize to expedite that inner knowing, those intuitive flashes that literally feel like my spirit is vibrating within my flesh and bones, I am willing to give more than a few trial runs.

In order to continue awakening to my own motivations, what excites me, what is worth spending my time and talents pursuing, I believe dreams offer invaluable insights. Sleep is restorative, and we apparently dream at least 5 times a night. It seems ludicrous to me that such an activity, which our whole species spends so much time engaged in, is sometimes dismissed as meaningless.

Dreams emerge from within.They are products (or productions!) of my own mind and spirit. I am grateful to be offered more tools that aid the deciphering of my nightly treasures.

Preview this book

Of further interest:

Robert Moss interviews and reviews with Merryn Jose.

Dreaming the soul’s path: part two of a two-part interview for New Life Journal.

The Secret History of Dreaming #51.

Interview on KRON-TV

Interview on SHAW-TV.

Dreaming True, an interview with Robert Moss by Connie Hill.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Books/DVDs, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Three ONLY Things

  1. Carol,
    What a great topic!! I ordered the book and will be really interested to read it when it arrives. There are infinite wonderful things in the universe and I am always delighted to read your blog and find many of them within your pages.

    Thanks for sharing this. Now i am going to go watch the interviews you have listed.

    This subject reminds me of one of my sons favorite quotes-“Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake”

    Best:)
    Kathyanne

  2. tammy vitale says:

    speaking of dreams I had a new (not a repeat or even referential) dream last night…your post is timely. I have a feeling I “need” some help in my life right now. I don’t know if it’s the book so much as taking the time to pay attention to dreams, imagination, coincidence. I don’t need to learn or know, just watch and pay attention. Thank you! Now I have to go back and read Leah’s post, because I didn’t the first go round.

  3. Carol,
    Your blog is wonderful and I look forward to reading it just as I would to sip Mint Medley tea with lemon and 3 tsp. sugar. I haven’t listened to the interviews yet but will today.
    I’ve always been a believer in dreams and what the subconscious is working out while we sleep. You talk about how important “essence” is to your work. Essence is the embodiment of the whole and it’s born of an intuitive nature.

    Not long ago I read it’s important to let your secrets be known, release them to the universe and other people. Conversely some believe that the more information you give the less power you retain to achieve.

    Today I take down my show and it’s a strange feeling. Can’t wait to read the book. By the way, I loved the article about Jennifer Noxon.

  4. leah says:

    Oh, I’m so glad the interview re-kindled your interest in dreams and Robert Moss’s work! It’s incredibly fascinating!!

  5. carolwiebe says:

    This is fantastic . . 4 of my favorite people on one post!
    I am not the least surprised that all of you are attracted to dream energy.

  6. carolwiebe says:

    Chris, Robert Genn wrote one of his letters about Post-Show-Blues.

    He says “It’s called PSB–Post-Show Blues. I’ve spent a lifetime trying to either eliminate or lessen the condition. A show’s success or failure has little to do with the severity of the problem. While there are lots of causes, it’s often the fallout from stress in the period leading up to and during the show–and the psychic vacuum that follows.”

    His advice?

    “Artists need a “divorce” from their previous commitment so they can proceed with a new love. A quickie divorce is better than a drawn-out one. It’s actually possible to start the new love before the old one expires. That way you’re not stepping off into unknown territory after the event. So as not to become jaded, depressed or even impressed with yourself, make it a point not to revisit the prior show or pay much attention to its denouement.

    It’s like moving to a new town and starting all over as a virgin.”

    Honey, I have confidence that you can do that without moving! Wouldn’t it be fun to be a virgin again?

    http://clicks.robertgenn.com/post-show-blues.php

    Isn’t Genn incredible? He keeps coming up with such great stuff, twice a week, year after year!

  7. Hey Carol, I usually don’t have Post-Show-Blues. Usually have so much more fun and excitement while I am making the work and then the show is anti-climactic. It seems like the show is only where I was and not where i am going. Sounds weird but by the time the show opens all the good part is over. It’s great to sell at the opening, but the best is all I learn about where I want to go with my new ideas. So If I am going to have the blues or feel not so great about the whole thing, it happens by the opening when there is no time to do the work that would be really good for the show. Weird, huh?

    I so think it’s about the work and the journey and the shows get in the way…..

  8. carolwiebe says:

    You know, I don’t think that’s weird at all. You are VERY process oriented and so into working out new ways of doing things, new ways of putting things together–I could see having to stop and put “finished works” up somewhere would “get in the way.”

    I’m much the same. I am totally involved in something while I am doing it, then almost forget about it after it’s done. Going to my own solo show was a bit surreal: it’s like I didn’t recognize some of my own work. There’s often a distance: maybe it’s that channeling of the art spirit that Elizabeth Gilbert talks about.I often feel that my best work is “given” to me.

  9. Wow now there is another one- Elizabeth Gilbert, the genius in us:) Her talk was so interesting. I am one who hasn’t read her book. After seeing her talk on TED, I took her book and the cd version out of the library.

    I loved the way she talked about the words catching up a flying by, can’t remember how she stated it. I think our best work is given to us when we totally connect with spirit and it just flows and then you can wonder, “where did that come from” and sometimes I wonder why it wasn’t there before because it seemed so easy when it did come.

    Hmmmmmm:) But isn’t it nice to have the recognition of a solo show. That is why for me it’s great to give a lecture about how my work has evolved etc, it opens my eyes to what I have done and gives me that attitude of gratitude for how far my work has grown. Then there is the little voice that says- and where it is going:)

    Always good to go for these leading edge discussions. It’s nice to have companionship in the artist condition:)

Leave a Reply

