Sketch As You Crawl!

Susan, the amazing artist from Susan’s Art and Sketchbook Blog, describes her participation in a SketchCrawl in Freestone, California. SketchCrawling was named after the infamous PubCrawling–a weekend sport that many thirsty athletes participate in.

Freestone sounds quite idyllic:

Freestone is such a lovely little place with not only bread ovens and vegetable gardens to sketch, but cows and barns and goats and houses with white picket fences and flower gardens, and of course lots of people eating ginger pear scones!

I start to salivate as I read the words ginger pear scones, which must be a product of the Wild Flour Bakery (such a clever name!). It would be worth a trip to Freestone just to visit that bakery! Of course, I would visit Susan as well, once I had my fill of whipping crème scones and biscotti. Or maybe Susan and I could meet there, and try to talk with our mouths full!

x

Wild Flour sketch by Susan Cornelis. Used with permission.

But I digress  . . . SketchCrawl began as the brainchild of Enrico Casarosa, and has turned into a “world wide event.” Here is how Casarosa explains it:

The basic idea: to record nonstop everything I could around me with my pencil and watercolors. A drawn journal filled with details ranging from the all the coffee I drank to the different buses I took. After a whole day of drawing and walking around the city the name seemed quite fitting: “SketchCrawl” – a drawing marathon. The crawl was more tiring than I imagined but also more fun and exciting than I had thought. Giving yourself this kind of mandate for a full day changes the way you look around you. It makes you stop and see things just a tad longer, just a bit deeper … needless to say I loved it.

Enrico also has a blog, and you’ll want to check out the SketchCrawl drawings he displays from January 2009, especially those of his daughter. He has found her very hard to capture because “She’s so ridiculously adorable it’s hard to do it justice.”

How’s that for a tug at the old heartstrings.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Artists, Inspiration, Life Strategies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sketch As You Crawl!

  1. Carol,
    Everything you write about is great. But…….I want to do it all and I can’t, are you trying to give me a nervous breakdown?

    And another thing, since you’re a writer I double check my grammatical comments. Oh the pressure, it’s too much for me.:)
    Commenters, can you relate? Please spill the beans on this dilemma, can any other readers feel my pain?

    Carol, since your’re talkin’Italiano today…. check out this great blog I have listed below. BTW my biscotti is to die for.
    I hate that expression “to die for”, just letting you know.

    http://www.msadventuresinitaly.com/blog/2009/04/03/coffee-crack-druggy-delight-or-delicious-specialty-espresso

    Ciao bella!

    • carolwiebe says:

      Chris, you have NO idea what this comment meant for me, and what it got rolling! I will tell you about it some time. Meanwhile, how did you KNOW that I am head over heels about BISCOTTI!

  2. Pingback: A Nimbus Surrounds Susan’s Studio Garden « Silverspring Studio

Leave a Reply

