A Couple of Collage Paintings

I completed two small collage paintings this weekend. They are on 10″ (l) x 8″ (w) birch panels. I find these to be very workable surfaces. I purchase mine from Currys in Toronto.

Birch Solid Wood Panels

Birch Solid Wood Panels

Convergence

Convergence

Break Through

Break Through

A picture is not thought out and settled beforehand. While it is being done it changes as one’s thoughts change. (Pablo Picasso)

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Couple of Collage Paintings

  1. flora says:

    These are gorgeous!
    The top one especially ‘speaks to me’.
    I love the colours and the look of ‘roots’. I’ve been sprouting bean seeds to be able to draw and perhaps paint them, so I’m probably seeing ‘roots’ everywhere!
    What material(s) have you used in that piece?
    AND…congrats that you are able to publish so frequently and such wonderful articles. I love your blog!!

  2. tammy vitale says:

    ooh. I want to touch them. They look all fluid – the movement is wonderful, and yet they feel very contemplative! Must remember to try some birch!

  3. carolwiebe says:

    You are both very kind. I decided to make painting, all on its own, a regular part of my art practice rather than working on quilts exclusively. That way I get to do a lot more painting. All it takes is a shift in thinking!

  4. Pingback: Once in a Blue . . . Pear « Silverspring Studio

Leave a Reply

