Getting Into the Blues

I’ve been working through some things, making decisions while I paint design papers.

I kept these paintings quite monochromatic, deliberately limiting myself to blue (turquoise) paint, gesso, and a hand cut stamp.

Blue Texture

Painting: Blue Texture

I’ve noticed on various monitors that the light blue area in Blue Texture does not show up very well. Here is a closeup.

Blue Texture Closeup

Painting: Blue Spiral
Painting: Blue Spiral
Painting: Blue Shells
Painting: Blue Shells
Painting: Blue Square
Painting: Blue Square

Then I played with the images in Photoshop Elements and produced some design papers that I like very much:

Digital: Blue World DP1
Digital: Blue World DP1

Digital: Blue World DP2

Digital: Blue World DP3

Digital: Blue World DP3

Blue World DP4

Blue World DP4

Blue World DP5

Blue World DP5

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Getting Into the Blues

  1. Do you have a special printer for this paper? I want to say that you would need some fibrous paper, tissue paper, canvas paper? Hey I bet canvas paper would work swell for that.

  2. Dayna says:

    I love the variety of blues – amazing range and oh, so, peaceful.

  3. Flora says:

    These are very beautiful! What will you do with them now? can you print them onto specialty paper? Personally, I say print them and frame them!

    • carolwiebe says:

      Flora, I like to turn my design papers into paper quilts. I am going to say a lot more about that soon! And THANKS for the encouragement.

  4. Carol, Those papers are wonderful! Love your stamp, a reminder to me to get carving and stamping!

  5. carolwiebe says:

    Chris, you could print it onto anything you can get through your printer! Check out Kathyanne White to see what all she’s putting through HER printer.

    I usually just use plain white paper, then “do my thing” with a variety of mixed media materials on top. Gessos, mediums, pastels, watercolor & ink pencils, WHATEVER!

  6. carolwiebe says:

    Donna, by all means, get those stamps going. They are so much fun to use and add such a distinctive touch because they are YOUR design. I make mine out of styrofoam. It’s SO fast and easy. I think I can always make another if I wreck one, but I’ve had some for YEARS!

  7. Mags says:

    I love your website Carol you may have inadvertently picked a suitable ‘friend’ after all! No M in the middle, but I love computing and love the work you show.
    I also enjoyed your bit about Sharon in the post below. I was also very good at figure drawing and catching a likeness and after all these years would agree with her, that’s the way to go. Thanks for introducing me to her work and ideas.

  8. Hi Carol, I’ve been busy and haven’t visited here lately:) I was thrilled to see your “blue” work here. Your blog is wonderful and always inspiring and I love that you are sharing your paper. Also thanks for the plug above:)

    Since seeing your paper work, I keep wondering if you have any detail shots, or if they would do the papers justice. I would also love to see some details of your paper quilts.

    Always a wonderful place to visit…..

Leave a Reply

