The L-A-B Arrives by Mail to Me

This week I received a package in the mail from Dayna Collins of Alley Art Studio. The package contained my little art buddy (LAB). I have not named the LAB yet, nor decided on gender.

Here is my challenge:

1) art it up

2) alter it beyond recognition

3) take a photo/photos of the little guy going on a field trip,

4) think of something Dayna hasn’t thought of

5) a combination of all of the above!

I thought Dayna might enjoy seeing that her LAB arrived safe and sound. I’ve been doing an egg/chicken theme lately, so I gently cradled the LAB on a nest of the shredded paper that S/he came packaged with.

S/he is waving  “Hello!” It is obvious that S/he is comfortable and in good spirits (though a little homesick).  Here is the X-ray version.

It reveals the LAB’s brave purple heart. S/he left Dayna to come to me for “alterations,” didn’t S/he?

By the way, I think Dayna may be psychic. She sent the LAB in this wrapping paper, without having seen a paper quilt I created lately. If only this paper had arrived sooner, I could have quilted it and saved hours of work.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Challenges, Artists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The L-A-B Arrives by Mail to Me

  1. Dayna says:

    Carol, this is SO cool! And I want to know how you did the X-ray photo of the LAB! I’m pleased that you enjoyed receiving your LAB. I can’t wait to see what you do to “it” . . . I’m busily blogging about your blog post right now (and I hope you don’t mind, but I’m using your photos, with credit, of course . . .).

  2. carolwiebe says:

    Of course I don’t mind, Dayna . . . blog away.

    The “X-ray” is a Photoshop manipulation. I knew the yellows would “Invert” to blues, so I just played with the brightness and level of transparency. Then I added a little heart layer.
    If the page I “X-rayed” had not been yellow, I could have altered the color to yellow hues. Or, I could have gone to a gray version of the original as my x-ray. There are lots of alternatives, and they all work.

    I have decided to call my LAB Oiseaux. I thought of Birdie, which is cute and a diminutive bird (she’s a diminutive human form), but I like the French version of this word better.

  3. OKAY, THIS IS FABULOUS! LUCKY YOU:) Waiting for the next……..

  4. carolwiebe says:

    Installment? It’s such a fun concept, Kathyanne. Trust Dayna to come up with it. She’s a fun kinda art creator (and teacher) so now I have to respond in kind with something worthy of this idea.

Leave a Reply

