No-one Has Asked Me to Clean It Up

Laura Harris describes her 8 x 12 foot studio as having:

paint on the walls, the ceiling, on the curtains and rug, and I love that no one has asked me to clean it up. Music loud, I can’t help but wiggle a bit and I think that movement finds its way into the paintings .  .  . I can see it in the strokes.

I find that “blending of words and bold color” very attractive, even more so after hearing Laura describe her overwhelming sense of connection with the world, and how she translates that feeling into her paintings.

Her best “advice” is that you can’t force your work:

It’s just going to do what it does. And if I force something, then it never works out . . . If I just listen to the canvas and pay attention to the process, and let it do its own thing, it will then become what it’s supposed to be. That sounds sort of out there, but it’s really true.

See Harris’s work On the Horizon, from a  September 2008 show at White Rock Gallery, on the lower mainland region of British Columbia, Canada.   Horizon of Hope and Jade are radiant examples. More of her acrylic jewels are available for viewing on the regular Laura Harris page, such as Under Sapphire, Linen and Blue, or Where the Heart Is.

Eventually, Harris became aware of “a very strong theme” in her painting: a need to connect with people on an emotional level. That yearning materializes as an energy which enlivens the paintings and “really resonates with people” who observe them. I certainly felt it, just regarding them on my computer screen.

Imagine the reverberations if I encountered the real paintings.

Horizon of Hope~by Laura Harris

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No-one Has Asked Me to Clean It Up

  1. Mary Buek says:

    Thank you for the link to Laura Harris’s paintings; they are amazing. You always have the best stuff in your blog.

  2. Carol Wiebe says:

    Thank you Mary, for reading it. The world is so full of amazing people, I could be writing non-stop, 24/7. But then how would I make my own art?

  3. Shirley Bartell says:

    This was the PERFECT email for me to read this morning! I was doing a quick check before hitting the studio to work “round 2” on some papers that I dyed some weeks ago. I LOVE the visual image of painting the room, curtains, etc, loud music, free spirit, connection. What a gorgeous zone to be in! Thanks for sharing that and the attached painting! I’ll carry this image to the studio with me and am sure I’ll do great work there today! sab

  4. Laura Harris says:

    Just came across this blog… very cool.

    Now I’m off to make a crazy, beautiful mess!

    Happy painting everyone…
    Laura Harris.

Leave a Reply

