Stilled Life

As women, we can nurture life within us. That life is of us but does not belong to us. We can anticipate it, but there are no guarantees. Life is a mystery and birth is a privilege.

Not Yet

Stilled Life

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stilled Life

  1. Deb Sims says:

    Of all the creative things I have done in my life, giving birth to my two sons has been the most mystical, rewarding, incredible of all. It has also been frustrating, heart wrenching, joyful, hysterical and many other things along the way! I have learned far more from my sons than they ever learned from me. You are so right–it is a privilege!

  2. Dayna says:

    Very calming, peaceful piece you have created. I have gone back to look at it a couple of times – it calls to me.

  3. carolwiebe says:

    Deb, I trust your sons know what a phenomenal mother they have: you feel so deeply and share so generously.

    Dayna, this piece really drew out some strong feelings and one of them was that of surrender to mystery.

  4. bridgette says:

    Hi Carol, Thank you so much for stopping my blog and for your comments you left me. I just perused your blog and just love what you have here. I will be a frequent visitor from now on!

    I just had to comment on this painting. It really speaks to me. deep currents. I even got a little chill when i read the words “not yet”. for my first solo show I worked on a series called “expecting” and explored my first pregnancy- the creation of life, motherhood, anticipation. It turned out that I had a high risk pregnancy and it all became so scary and emotional. How fragile and precarious life can be. Thankfully, all the bed rest and shots and prayers helped and my little one is now 2.5 years old. Working on that series though was like therapy for me!

    This is a beautiful and brave painting.

  5. carolwiebe says:

    Bridgette, both your art and your words have moved me profoundly as well. “Deep currents” is an apt shorthand for those feelings.

    This painting was so raw I thought it might scare people (projection?), but I decided that if I was painting from a true place, I should put it up. Those true places always have something “real” to say to others. I recognize them when I see them, and the fact that it spoke to you assures me that I made the right decision.

    Blessings on your little one. How fortunate he is to have a mother that dives to the depths and explores her life, and shares it in a way that others can be enriched by!

    Continue along your artistic path, Bridgette. It’s a lush one.

Leave a Reply

