My First Video ~ Cracked Paper Quilts 1: Sewing the Paper Top.

I’m excited about having made my first video. My husband grabbed a videocam and away we went. My friends Flora and Kathyanne make videos constantly, so I hope they will give me some tips for the next one.

The process is exhilarating!

Here are possibilities to consider for my next one:

  • a hair stylist
  • a makeup artist
  • a wardrobe expert
  • a cleaning service (Would they touch an artist studio? Would I want them to?)
  • a script
About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Cracked Paper Quilts, Humour, Paper arts, Videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My First Video ~ Cracked Paper Quilts 1: Sewing the Paper Top.

  1. Flora says:

    I LOVE it!!! Great to see you and your studio and your work! Especially great to see how you do what you do. As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words.

    When I did my videos, I found it to be really difficult to film and to talk at the same time…or to do and to talk. lol! My most successful one, I think, is the styrofoam printing one. What i did there was take a series of stills, put them together in imovie and then record overtop. I had to record a couple of times, but it worked best for me.
    The other thing I’ve done is to make little snippets and then to ‘stitch’ them together using a free software called ‘visual hub’.
    I really don’t know what I’m doing and am totally winging it!
    I have a new digital camera that takes movies and I need to spend more time with it and get back to the movie making. My previous, broken, digital was a Sony and the movie’s were pretty good…a higher resolution. I guess I’ll have to read my new camera’s manual, eh?

    Keep up the great work! I can’t wait to see the rest of the series! ;-)

  2. Deb Sims says:

    Whoo Hoo! Fantastic! No makeup artist, hair stylist or ward robe consultant necessary! You look fabulous and your joy in this process comes through in your voice and images! Congratulations! I can hardly wait to get started. I am feeding my son’s cats and fish while he is on vacation so I have to run out and do that and then I shall dive into cracking paper! I can’t wait to see the rest of the process on video. Seeing you actually working makes the whole process come alive!
    YOU GO GIRL!!

  3. Very Very Nice Carol! Loved seeing you up close and in person, hearing your voice and showing your process. It’s amazing what you start with and what your final image will be. Really amazing.
    Thanks and I’ll be watching for the follow up video.
    Chris
    P.S. Kudos to the camera man.

  4. carolwiebe says:

    Thanks for those ideas, Flora. Apparently the Visual Hub creator is closing his doors.

    It makes me happy if the joy I have doing this comes through: I hoped I wasn’t too serious. I go into teacher mode and try to impart as much info as possible. I am looking forward to a cracked paper quilt by you!!!

  5. carolwiebe says:

    That’s what I love about the process, Chris. I use such simple materials and have the opportunity to transform them! They go from simple, ordinary paper to a work that has substance, weight, color, texture.

    That’s why I’m a happy art addict!

Leave a Reply

