Invoking Clarity

With the full power of the moon behind her, this woman invokes clarity.

But clarity does not necessarily arrive quickly, in an easily discernible package, hovering just above our gaze before wrapping us in its bright tendrils.

Rather, we piece all the various small revelations together, and begin to fathom a more spacious vision with each shining quilt, painting or poem that we “complete.”

Perhaps “completion” is not the direction we want to move towards, with its suggestion of closure.

What we really seek is a perpetual opening, a ceaseless unfolding, until we become so expansive that everything else is part of us, and we of it.

x

Invoking Clarity ~ by Carol Wiebe

x

Side view

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Invoking Clarity

  1. Deb Sims says:

    What a beautiful image. For me clarity comes in recognizing that the older I get the less I know and that state of unknowingness is clarity and endless freedom. Absolutes box us in, set boundaries and limit our possibilities. Finding a stable center from which to open ourselves to the universe brings infinite possibilities from which we can pick and choose at will. For me that stable center must come from a solid grounding in mutual respect and concern for all living things. From there I can explore inspirations and travel anywhere my imagination takes me.

  2. tammy vitale says:

    “What we really seek is a perpetual opening, a ceaseless unfolding”

    mmm. lovely message for this day. The painting is wonderful. The musings that accompany it exquisite.

    Thank you!

  3. tammy vitale says:

    p.s. put a link here from my post today so I could share this further.

  4. Carol Wiebe says:

    Thanks, Deb. I always enjoy your thoughtful and passionate perspective on any given topic!

    Tammy, thanks so much, and I appreciate the link!

  5. jeane says:

    definitely perpetual opening and taking the risks of walking through those doors :)

  6. How beautifully you expressed the process…your words truly spoke to me. Also, I watched your video and loved it. What a fascinating idea, these paper quilts…I love the idea of sewing with paper!

  7. Oh my gosh, how could I forget? Your painting was beautiful! So sorry…I was too caught up in thinking about your words.

    • carolwiebe says:

      Fledgling Poet: I am so glad that I have said or made something that speaks to you . . . that is what making art and discussing it is truly about!

  8. Dayna says:

    Lovely image, lovely words. Just what I needed to start my week.

Leave a Reply

