What an Amazing Week!

I have met so many incredible people at Quilting By the Lake this week. Today is my last day here (sigh). It is so nurturing, as an artist, to spend a week immersed in art making. From morning to evening, there are other artists who are eager and willing to discuss their philosophies of art, their visions and dreams. Techniques and materials are shared, and there is a sense of having found a community that understands your motivations and drive.

I’ll be reflecting more on this week when I return home.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Shows, Workshop info and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What an Amazing Week!

  1. tammy vitale says:

    yes – I’ve been yearning for that myself, but I’m not sure I knew it until I read this post. Thank you!

    • carolwiebe says:

      The yearnings are hard to pinpoint, sometimes. But a whole week, with at least eight hours (more if you have the energy to go after supper as well), allows very close relationships to develop. You start out with so much in common, and sharing the art that comes from within brings a depth to your experiences together, even if you didn’t exchange a word. Add the conversation to that, and you learn so much in very short order. Please let me know what class you finally choose to take, Tammy. But do choose: these yearnings must be satisfied!

  2. It is an absolute goal of mine to travel to an art workshop one day. The bonding you describe with fellow artists is a feeling I can’t wait to experience. And what an adventure it took to get you there! So glad you finally made it safe and sound, and I look forward to reading about your experience when you get back. I hope your trek home is uneventful! :~)

    • carolwiebe says:

      You made a flying leap from fledgling to sweetest in the gale! Thank you, Sweetest, for your well wishes.

  3. Nina-Marie says:

    I would encourage greatly anybody to come to a conference like QBL. This was my 9th year and it literally recharges my creativity for the upcoming year. Of course its hard to make it a priority with our busy lives, so I started a savings account tht is just considered my QBL fund. I start planning and saving for the following year as soon as classes are done. I’ve never been sorry!

    • carolwiebe says:

      Hi, Nina! I’m so happy to hear from you on Silverspring Studio! You did some wonderful work the week I was at Quilting By the Lake, and will continue to do so, I am sure. Please send me pics of your finished pieces!

Leave a Reply

