When the Heart Bursts into Flame

What Was Your Face Before You Were Born?

When the heart bursts into flame

history completely disappears

and lightning strikes the ocean

in each cell.

There, before origins,

where the double helix

is struck  like a tuning fork

there is a hum

on which the universe is strung.

(by Stephen Levine, in The Way Ahead, edited by Eddie and Debbie Shapiro.)

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Books/DVDs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When the Heart Bursts into Flame

  1. This is stunning in its depth…and this book sounds like it would be a very interesting read! I was hoping my library might have it, but no such luck…lol. So I’ve added it to my Amazon.com wish list.

    The strange thing is that I just finished a poem that starts out with “There lies an ocean inside my chest”, for this Sunday’s One Single Impression writing prompt. So I was especially ‘struck’ by the line that describes ‘the ocean in each cell’! Wonderful…

  2. tammy vitale says:

    Before Beginning,
    Purple lay humming
    and the hum danced
    in and around Purple
    criss-crossing and spiraling
    until Purple was full of whom
    it might be. Caught by curiosity
    and thrum, Purple became Blue Water
    and Red Flame quite by accident, more
    a letting go then a splitting apart, and hum
    became sigh and sigh became Wind; then Blue
    and Red and Wind danced together long enough
    to create Time. Beneath beyond Purple hummed
    and, because of Wind, the hum began
    to tickle Purple and Purple laughed
    out Yellow and Yellow draped
    among the crosses and spirals
    of Purple’s Web creating
    intersections vibrating
    Shadow and
    Light.

    For all I know, they are still dancing.
    (from Night Vision by Tammy Vitale)

  3. Carol Wiebe says:

    You are certainly still dancing,Tammy.
    That hum is a powerful force.

    SITG: Imagine how many oceans we contain within ourselves . . . we are infinite.

  4. Deb Sims says:

    Wow, truly powerful words. And they ring true to my heart. When my son Jordan was 7 years old we were riding in the car we had this unusual conversation:

    Jordan: Mom, I’ve been alive since the ’60’s

    Me: No, dear you were born in 1986, the ’80’s.

    J: No, mom, before that, when God was getting me ready to be in your tummy.

    M: Oh, Really?

    J: Yeah, he had lots to do, he had to put in my feelings and decide what he would build my body to look like and what color my hair and eyes would be and what color I would be–black or white–you know it takes a long time and a lot of work!

    After that conversation I have never once doubted that there are indeed oceans and universes of mysteries within each of us and that we are, as Carol says, infinite. And purple sometimes!

  5. Carol Wiebe says:

    Yes, I’d like to live a purple existence at some time in my evolution.

Leave a Reply

