Following Your Bliss Never Gets Outdated

Silverspring Studio could be called Springboard Studio, because writing here seems to launch my mind and spirit into exhilarating new heights. I have practiced seeking ideas and artwork that excite and challenge me. They are out there in droves. I LOVE being amazed, and seldom have to look far to achieve that feeling.

But every once in a while I trip into a sense of being overwhelmed ~ with all I want to understand and achieve. Many others seem so adept at promoting their art careers and I wonder how they can manage to do all that and still find the time and energy to create art. When such feelings arise, I know it is a signal to turn off the computer and fill the tea kettle with water. While the water is coming to a boil, I sit quietly and breathe consciously.

I recognize that I have let myself move to a vantage point of fear. From there, I peer outward, to someone else’s way, rather than adhering to my personal guidance system. This produces discomfort, and is actually a helpful reminder to get back on my own track. I have a very reliable intuition that not only offers me excellent suggestions ~ it provides an array of alternatives, all of which have potential.  When the path that leads before me appears obscure, I only have to glance back to realize that it has always been there, and is perfectly suited to me.

I remind myself that I have much to be grateful for, and that I have built this artful life, for myself, to be a source of meaning and joy. I pour my tea.

With my spirit soothed and my concentration redirected, I regain my eagerness to create. Without creating, there is nothing to promote. I prefer the term advocacy. I advocate for my art because I believe it has something to say. I am so grateful for the ability to translate what I see, feel and learn into a tangible form. Paying attention to my environment, both outer and inner, I gather many of the the elements I need.  But when that brush is in my hand, I am not concentrating on any prior “research.” I let myself drift into an altered state, a kind of floating sensation. Time does not press me. Doubts do not assail me. My hands surprise and delight me ~ shapes and colors emerge. Suggestions jump into my mind, but not through analysis or decision making. “More orange”  might present itself, and I grab the red to work it into part of a yellow section.

I meditate on all these thoughts as I drink my tea. My priorities have been reset, my fears allayed.  I head back into my studio.

As artists, we must learn to be self nourishing. We must become alert enough to consciously replenish our creative resources as we draw on them – to restock the trout pond, so to speak.  ~ Julia Cameron

The way to find out about happiness is to keep your mind on those moments when you feel most happy, when you are really happy — not excited, not just thrilled, but deeply happy. This requires a little bit of self-analysis. What is it that makes you happy? Stay with it, no matter what people tell you. This is what is called following your bliss. ~ Joseph Campbell

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Following Your Bliss Never Gets Outdated

  1. barb says:

    Wow, your studio looks fantastic! So clean. I would put money on the fact that it won’t stay that way……..

    Great post.

  2. Magpie Sue says:

    So glad I scrolled down to this post. Feeling very vulnerable as an artist today; your example of how you cope will help me. Thanks for that.

    • carolwiebe says:

      Sue, I am glad it spoke to you. Sometimes I hesitate to say that anything less than perfect happens, not because I am trying to pretend there is perfection, but because I don’t see any point in dwelling on the negative. However, when fear arises, I do try to stay conscious of such, and do my best to turn things around again! As they say, what you concentrate on increases, so I concentrate on all the wonderful things going on, and there are PLENTY of those!

  3. Stella Jones says:

    Oh! your studio is fantastic, it really is. It must have cost a fortune! and to have that much space to do what you want. I am speechless and green with envy…to have a husband who is able and prepared to do all that for you, my God you are a lucky woman. It is so wonderful to have a dedicated space to work in. I love looking at other people’s studios and this was a great idea but it has left me feeling very inadequate and full of longing.
    Thank you for sharing your studio with us. I would now like to look at your work and see what wonderful things you produce in that haven of productivity.
    Blessings, Star

  4. This post should be required reading for every artistic person when they’re having a moment of doubt or uncertainty…your words are a beautiful reminder that we all need to have faith in our own unique expression and intuition. Beautiful!

    Thank you so much for the kind words you wrote on my blog yesterday…I have never thought of myself as courageous. You really made me feel good.

    I’m sorry I’ve missed so many posts on your blog…I went away on vacation in September, and ever since I’ve had a hard time getting back into the blog world. I’m enjoying catching up on your thoughts while I sip my coffee this morning. Have a wonderful day~~

Leave a Reply

