Paramour

You know that feeling of being so full of emotions that you are going to burst if you don’t give it an outlet? It’s being close to tears and laughter at the same time.

It’s having an elevated sense of energy, with your whole body vibrating  and your thoughts expanding.

It’s wanting with an ache you don’t know you can survive, yet you feel so very alive.

The other night I couldn’t sleep. I kept getting up and writing down lines that popped into my head. Each time, I’d glance at the clock, the hours of wakefulness devouring my sleeping time. However, a message wanted to come through and that is a gift I appreciate, any time of the day (or night).

Arrival ~ Mixed Media Painting by Carol Wiebe

ARRIVAL

.

When Inspiration swoops

dissolving all

resistance in its grasp

the familiar cacophony    of

doubt simply

ceases.

.

She marvels how

her heart can execute

a beat    or she can negotiate

her feet     and then

her third eye    (the truest

of ocular instruments)    lifts

its brow like a floodgate ~ and

insight surges through.

.

You will never hear her

say she fears being

overcome     in fact

there is nothing she wants more

and she would not hesitate    to

sacrifice both food and drink

to swoon with such

a paramour.

.

Inspiration feeds another

kind

of hunger.

.

© Carol Wiebe

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Carol's poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Paramour

  1. Tammy Vitale says:

    “Inspiration feeds another kind of hunger.” Indeed. Lovely poem, spectacular mixed media piece….and, yes, I do know those feelings. I’ll look to this next time I don’t know what to do with them!

  2. Tammy Vitale says:

    so, what are you going to do with that piece?

  3. carolwiebe says:

    It’s hanging in my living room, Tammy, to remind me that Inspiration is always available.

    Thank you, Jeane! I just popped over to your site, and loved what you posted there. You said:

    “This feels genuine and attached to the inside of me. That’s what it has to be for me to be finished. I find it interesting that the same colors and some of the old structure ended up on the finished piece. The difference is that I went deeper.”

    Very inspiring words!

  4. Dayna says:

    Ahhh, I do feel as though I’m part of a very special tribe and this post confirms it. Thank you, Carol.

  5. Tammy Vitale says:

    so are you doing prints?

Leave a Reply

