Going Further and Deeper

I am completely enamored with how the different aspects of the art processes I engage in dovetail.

I take photos, and can print them out and use them as collage elements in both my paper quilts and my journals.

I can also play with them in Photoshop Elements, and produce unlimited numbers of design papers that are additional collage elements.

Both the photos and design papers can be stitched to make paper appliques, which I have applied to quilts, journals and collage paintings on wooden panels or wrapped canvas.

When I create a journal page or collage painting I am pleased with, photos of them also become design papers and the whole process starts again. Actually, it is getting harder and harder to see where one process stops and another begins. It’s more like a flow, where all the elements dance which each other and the art emerges.

It’s a beautiful thing, being immersed in that flow. I feel like a fish in the ocean, a witness to wondrous colors and shapes that keep seducing me into going further and deeper.

Pics are coming . . . soon  . . . it’s a matter of dragging myself away, or out, or up?

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Carol's Art, Cracked Paper Quilts, Inspiration, Paper arts, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Going Further and Deeper

  1. Tammy Vitale says:

    Lovely! and so true – now I am even finding that I can begin melding community-based organizing skills with art to make a space for folks to think bigger. I love the way it all weaves together! And you described is in such an accessible way…that’s very inspirational for me! Thanks!

  2. Deb Sims says:

    Here’s an idea–just make adding the photos part of the flow! How’s that for a simplistic solution! I know what you mean. I am engaged in an endless art loop. I see photo ops as I drive around town, I download them to my computer and mess with them and they suggest new ideas and those ideas spawn more ideas and off I go! What a lovely journey!

  3. Jeane says:

    dig deep Carol, that’s where the good stuff is hidden :)

  4. carolwiebe says:

    You three mean so much to me . . . your words are always thoughtful and encouraging.

  5. Pingback: Journal Pages « Silverspring Studio

Leave a Reply

