Montreal Massacre,1989: How To Respond?

It was December 6, 1989, and we were listening to the terrible unfolding of a massacre in Montreal. How to respond? I was a student at the time, and kept thinking of those women gunned down at l’École Polytechnique, as well as the many women I knew, of all ages, who were attending classes in universities and schools across the country.

I went home, made a drawing, wrote a poem, and photocopied it onto vivid violet colored paper, the closest I could find to the lurid blood red that I imagined it on. The next day, I distributed the pages to everyone I knew and some I didn’t.

The following is a scan of that original drawing and the accompanying poem. (Here is a larger version that you can read more easily.)

nothing else ~ drawing and poem by Carol Wiebe

I can’t tell you how many of these poems I handed out ~ we were all numb.

But we were alive.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Carol's poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Montreal Massacre,1989: How To Respond?

  1. Tammy Vitale says:

    whew – that poem knocked the breathe completely out of me. It is very powerful! As is the picture. I have printed it out to keep around because although sad it has such spirit behind the statement of community and rememberance.

    • carolwiebe says:

      Tammy, when I wrote it 20 years ago it was such a release of fear and shock. I really did nothing else that day except draw and write the poem. As a fellow poet and artist, you understand how cathartic such activities are. I am so thankful that I have these means of expression.

      Thank you for your words, as always.

  2. Tammy Vitale says:

    p.s. I’m sharing your blog with my FB folks and my Twitter folks – I know it will touch them. This needs to be “out there!”

  3. Tammy Vitale says:

    giving you a shoutout over at my blog 12/10

Leave a Reply

