A Creative Mind Map

After getting to a point where I was writing just about every other day and spending several hours on each post, I gave myself a break in December. I felt I needed a re-assessment of how my time was being spent. I was writing about art more than doing it, and the whole raison d’être for starting this blog in the first place was to chronicle my art journey. I have also been surfing the Internet less, because while it is thrilling to “make connections” and find inspiration, it can all too easily escalate into a situation where you are putting the bulk of your energy into seeing what everyone else is doing rather than doing it yourself!

So here it is the last day of 2009, and I am in a sweet spot with art that I have started illustrating by creating this mind map. I did not complete it, so I will continue working on it tomorrow, the first day of the new year. That seems fitting to me.

A Mind Map of My Creative Process, as yet unfinished (both, actually).

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Carol's Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Creative Mind Map

  1. Happy New Year Carol! I’ll be talking to you soon. Hope you have a great holiday!

  2. Jeane says:

    wonderful post Carol – sounds like you are clear about your path for 2010 – I think Nike has/had the best saying “Just Do It” – I grabbed it for my own a few years ago and it has made a huge difference in my life – Happy New Year :)

  3. Deb Sims says:

    We creative beings can so easily get side tracked. An old friend called it “off on a pig trail”–putting one’s nose down and mindlessly wandering from lovely smell to lovely smell and completely forgetting what we set out to do! I too am trying to get my nose off the ground and back into what I set out to do–MAKE ART!
    Happy New Year to both of you!
    hugs,
    deb

  4. Flora says:

    I’m with you Carol!! I also love Deb’s ‘off on a pig trail’. I can SO relate to that.
    As well, just yesterday I was reading about gelatin prints and thinking of trying it out!
    Must do art. Must do art.
    You are an inspiration to me Carol and I want to explore the adobe stuff more…..thanks to you. this is my latest playing with it.
    http://www.slide.com/r/wBAAT3WV4z89b7CSU8fSo_idHneLrMTg

    Happy New Year Carol!
    Flora xo

  5. Carol Wiebe says:

    I can’t go wrong with wonderful artists like all of you encouraging me!

Leave a Reply

