Taking Risks With Jeane Myers

I’ve written about her before, and when I read on Artit that Jeane was coming to Ontario, I signed up right away for the class she will be teaching at Southampton Art School. It happens in the beginning of May.

Jeane uses oils and encaustic. I’m an acrylic lover. But that is inconsequential: I love her spirit, her attitude, her style. I am ready to take risks alongside this fearless leader, who continually demonstrates the “going deeper” with her art that she advises to others .

And, the truth be told, I want to cast my eyes over her dragon watch. I’m just putting it out there, Jeane. If you are not wearing that watch, I will have to work very hard at repairing my downcast expression. The cashmere jacket and saddle shoes would be a nice bonus, but that watch is a must see. If I’m having trouble with a certain risk, you could bribe me with another glimpse of the watch. I want to join the crowd that has gone, in your words, ga ga over it.

I have not been to the Southampton Art School, but it appears to be an amazing venue for making and seeing art. I spoke on the phone to Sharon Barfoot, the director, and subsequently explored her blog. Even Sharon’s profile is inspiring, which is no mean feat. And her art leaves you breathless.

I may require some resuscitation, what with the over stimulation of  both Barfoot and Myers occupying the same building. But I am bringing my sunglasses, my sense of adventure, and a great willingness to throw caution to the wind.

Wanna join the fun and folly, huh? I dare ya, I double dare ya! What’s life ~ or art ~ without braving a few risks here and there!

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists, Workshop info and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Taking Risks With Jeane Myers

  1. Deb Sims says:

    Oooooh, I am so tempted! I really want to go to New Mexico this spring and the budget just won’t handle both. Oooooooooh, I’ll have to think about this. You remember what happened the last time you dared me to do something! By the way are you driving the Taurus to the workshop????????

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Yes, I am driving the Taurus, but this is within Ontario, and 2 hours away, so coverage is no problem.

      Oh my goodness, Deb, if you come too we’ll need even more oxygen tanks!

  2. Jeane says:

    Serious?!! how cool is that! we get to meet AND do art! I’m thrilled! and I will drag along my dragon watch just for you – it’s going to be so fun – I will be working to get people ‘out of their own way’ so they can get out of their heads and do their art – that’s what we will be working on – it’s how I’ve worked with actors for 20 years! so looking forward to meeting you :)

  3. Love your Breaking Boundaries 2, it’s baaaad, just look at your baaad self. I never assume, in case you aren’t familiar with the old school beatnik verbage, baaad is way good.

    You broke the boundary, I wish I had done that…hahahah (wish I had a boundary to break) on the painting last night that I stayed up til 2am. I’m really ready to rip into it and after reading this post.

    Now go on with your bad self, I bet you jumped out of bed and started strutting right away this morning.

  4. Sharon Barfoot says:

    How exciting is this? I can tell from your enthusiasm that this week with Jean will be fun…fun….fun. I am looking forward to meeting both of you. I will make sure I have the oxygen tanks ready. I am thinking we should ‘timeshare’ that watch while Jean is here though.

    • carolwiebe says:

      Terrific idea, Sharon. I am all over the timesharing idea. Of course, I am just saying this because you are the director of the place ~ truth be told, I want to wear the watch myself (not that I am obsessing or anything . . . .)

  5. Deb Sims says:

    Oh good grief, Carol, we’re tougher than that! We’re the mothers of sons! I would love to come. I’m thinkin’………..

  6. Sharon Zappha Barfoot says:

    I am thinking you should come too Deb. The party is already planned. It promises to be a great time.

    • Deb Sims says:

      It does sound like a rollicking good time! It’s just not in my budget this spring! I will enjoy it vicariously through Carol’s reports!
      deb

Leave a Reply

