Just Because They’re Small Doesn’t Mean They Lack Power

Here are a few perfect examples of why I am so attracted to Jeane‘s paintings:

Untitled ~ by Jeane Myers

Untitled ~ by Jeane Myers

Jeane sent a post from Southampton, where she is artist in residence for May 2010, to her blog, saying “I just wanted to stop and say hello and pop up a couple little paintings to give you an idea of the work I’ve been doing.”

Those little paintings had a profound effect on me, especially the first one. In it, I see my small and broken self, the one that sometimes emerges when I am feeling vulnerable or powerless. The misshapen face speaks to me of loving and cherishing my imperfections. The fabric pieces seem to be trying to bind the rips and holes of life, which is an admirable but futile way to live. It is not possible to cover so many. And those wounds and scars have a certain beauty. Why try to hide or erase them? They belong on the maps of our lives ~ integral parts of who we are, now.

I also have a thing for ears, and that first figure has one darling little ear that doesn’t “match” the other one.

I decided to try and paint one of these lovely, ethereal figures that affect me so deeply. I took out one of my handmade art books and started to paint. No-one ever needs to know I’m trying to copy emulate Jeane, I thought. I just want to understand what is going on here.

I was not able to do it. Your style is demonstrably safe from me, Jeane. Although, if I don’t stop seeing these figures in my inner eye, they may just pop into a future painting, unawares! It’s the trying to do it that doesn’t cut the mustard.

This is what I did paint. I have some inside stories that are begging to be told, apparently. A number of them involve a redhead.

Do you care to wade in and interpret this “dream image?”

I’m all ears.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists, Carol's Art, Inspiration, Workshop info and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just Because They’re Small Doesn’t Mean They Lack Power

  1. Jeane says:

    good morning Carol – this is a wonderful! painting! – wouldn’t even try to interpret, but I’m sure you know what the spunky red head is saying! looks like you are keeping the door open and running with the wind! this little gem feels so alive! xxo

  2. diane says:

    i love the work. Especially the seeds.
    also dig the underground view…nice touch.

    I have a thing in some of my work that relates to what i call
    the pod people!

    love
    di

  3. Tammy Vitale says:

    You have a healthy seed growing from the energy in the palm of your hand! Ready to join the red-headed flowers. =] You take it from there.

  4. Tammy Vitale says:

    p.s. and all those seed pods to the right…could they be traveling to join the one you are holding? So much potential!

  5. Janet Rhind says:

    Wonderful work Carol! I see this piece/work as a “connection” A connection to life, to mother earth, to people. Aren’t we all just trying to “connect”. To ask ourselves “who am I”. I know I’m asking myself that more as I get closer to the big “6-0”.
    I love your work and your “whimsy”, and the spiritual vibe that your work emits to me. Can’t wait to take your workshop up at Sybils.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Wonderful answer, Janet! Yes, the connections are so very important, and spirit is the true connector.

Leave a Reply

