Above and Below

My friend, Diane Kramer (aka she wolf), created this piece (among many significant others) at a course we both took in Southampton from Jeane Myers. I felt prompted to write a poem when I saw the piece again on her Flickr page:

The Blue Suitcase

Originally uploaded by she wolf-

Above and Below

Where else would you be, little one,

but above the bed, having been pulled

so far from family and friends that

your etheric cord is stretched taut

as longing. …. A blue

suitcase, tucked below the hospital

bed like a small drawer, is ready to crack

open and disclose those

treasured belongings, transported

from the one place you know

you belong

to.

.

And here you are, all grown

up but still carrying

it ~ the little blue

suitcase ~ a treasure itself

now.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists, Carol's poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Above and Below

  1. I see this piece as a foray into the inter workings of woman kind. I feel that the items mentions as being treasured are shreds of the past which the young girl receives through her own cord, which is being tensioned by outside factors.

    I like the clarity of your words, and the clean cut nature of your images. I like the connection between your poem and the artwork of your friend. Well done, and happy Sunday.

  2. Zappha says:

    What wonderful words to add to a fabulous painting Carol. You ladies inspire me. Keep doin’ it lady.

  3. diane says:

    I am just getting to reading all your posts now….
    am so touched by your poems…and photos and very flattered that you have included my little blue suitcase- and your heart and soul poem.
    xx
    di

  4. diane says:

    loved reading all your blogs. I have only written once…in mine and wonder …if i shall again. ha ha.
    you are a busy bee…and i wish you luck with your edits.
    don’t be too hard on yourself. I loved the words and thoughts on Jeane. Great to read…and remember!

Leave a Reply

