Enough Is Enough

Jeane handed me a 3 word note at the workshop I took from her in Southampton:

Edit.

Allow access.

A recent post tells you something about Jeane’s editing process. She possesses a ruthless ability to sweep away excess.

As for me, she added a further suggestion to edit MY LIFE, at least as it pertains to art (which just about covers all of it).

You see, I came to the workshop with about 8 full boxes of supplies (it was for a whole 5 days, right?) and Jeane made me put away everything except a few brushes, some paint, and a couple items I could not do without. I did it quickly and fairly easily there (Diane and Patty could confirm this part of the story if you are finding it hard to believe I could do that).

At home is another matter.

I could take the easy way out and tell myself something like, “Well, Jeane is a minimalist. I need a wide array of choices of materials, which add richness and variety to my work.”

Yes, I could say that, and you might believe it.

But I am drowning in art materials, emails, blog entries, computer files, ideas, and etceteras.

I need focus. I need to EDIT.

Jeane, would you mind coming over and kicking my butt? And then giving me a hug?

Mona Myers

Jeane is so familiar
with the abyss
that she does not cling
to any qualms as
she shoves you
over that
impasse you keep
whining about. (You know,
the one you thought
was keeping you    from
falling?)

Glance upward as
you plummet and see
her through the ends of
your hair, leaning
over

and smiling.

© carol wiebe

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Enough Is Enough

  1. Deb Sims says:

    Carol, I am laughing hysterically, would be rolling on the floor if I thought I could get up! Laughing with you, I hope! I see you in my mind’s eye hauling all of your goodies into Quilting by the Lake. I know this compulsion to bring every possible brush, paint, fabric, bead, paper, tool that could conceivably under any possible circumstance be needed, even for a brief nanosecond! I too am working on editing–my life, my art tools, my books (YIKES!). I look forward to hearing from you how this process goes! Walking this road with you, dear friend!
    Hugs,
    deb

  2. Jeane says:

    well consider yourself kicked in the ass! – and remember how free you felt with YOU and just a few materials – it’s not all that stuff around you Miss Carol – you are more then enough yourself – the other things are just to help you illuminate YOU! you didn’t die without your flotilla of materials, you soared because you could see you! dump it babe! it’s your weakness and you need to make it your strength – how would it feel to walk into your workspace and confront just you and a clean surface? scary, but oh so exciting! AND may I say the little poem you left in my comment section? LOVE LOVE IT girl! may I put it on my sidebar? and here is a HUG! and know that I’m whittling my stuff down to house paint and those amazing boards from home depot – xxo

    • carolwiebe says:

      Here’s why I love you, Teach ~ my ass is smarting. But I have another question for you: Why is my ass smarter than my head?

      Yes, I DO remember. Elation. Freedom. Weight-LESS-ness.

      And yes, please use the poem. I’m honored.
      I called the poem Mona Myers, because someone else had that enigmatic smile before you.

      Or would grinning (from ear to ear) be more apt?

  3. Tammy Vitale says:

    I’m in a bout of decluttering myself. The whole house. One room at a time but not linearly (is that a word?) A bit here, a bit there. But it’s time for stuff to go. Including art books (pain) … just as I’m learning resing based jewelry focals which give one a very good excuse for never throwing away anything! Great post. Love it!

  4. Zappha says:

    I am always close by Carol, if you need someone to come and ‘edit’…..or hug. I have a saying that I use on myself when I lose momentum.

    ” It is a long way from your head to your feet”. (feet being the part that helps us move)

    There is beauty in everything……..EVERYTHING, EVERYONE. See it clearly. Much love to you, my friend.

    • carolwiebe says:

      I will definitely take you up on that — you are not far from me. Probably a lot closer than the distance between my head and my feet!

  5. barb says:

    Wow, i took a moment to sit down at my computer which has been connected only moments ago in my new surroundings. I am surrounded with boxes of my junk waiting for a home and open your post on this timely subject. Moving from a very large home that i have lived in for 18 years to one less than half the size, i have been “editing” with a vengeance, or so i thought, until i see all the boxes piled in my new space. I want to be free, i want to allow access to something other than thoughts filled with all things i should be doing. I want to make art and most importantly I want to give AND receive a hug from you Carol.

  6. Pingback: A Private Art Challenge (That I Am Sharing With Whoever Cares to Read This) | Silverspring Studio

  7. Pingback: Embracing Yupo-ness « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

Leave a Reply

