A FABULOUS TIME WAS HAD BY ALL (Especially me)

I gave a workshop on Saturday, June 12, 2010, at the Joshua Creek Heritage Art Centre, where we started making Cracked Paper Quilts.

Oh, but we had a time! These women were enthusiastic and talented, and I feel very privileged to have spent a super creative day with them. I was highly elated, seeing so many little CPQs take shape.

Thank you Donna Funnell, for helping to make this happen.

I am very focused on what participants are doing when I give a class, and often don’t even think of taking pictures. Thankfully, I managed to snap a few pics, this time.

I would love a picture of each and every quilt ~ there were 15 ~ so if you were there, and read this, please send me an email image or two!

The lovely little piece below is quilted, but painting and mixed media processes are yet to come.

Judy came with a CPQ already made (I was SO impressed) and I was fascinated by the one she is working on here.

Seeing everyone’s imagery, the words they choose, the way they put them together, creates an atmosphere that is charged with energy. Really, you need at least a few days in order to do justice to all that each of the participants has to offer. Every element that goes into a quilt deserves to be heard and celebrated. Those of us who take part in this learn so much from each other. It is satisfying visually, intellectually, and the spirit always enjoys a good soaring session.

It didn’t hurt that we were in a fantastic setting: Sybil Rampen’s home at the Joshua Creek Art Centre. What a dream life, to constantly be surrounded by a flurry of artistic activity.

Sybil is the Queen Bee in that hive.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Shows, Artists, Carol's Art, Workshop info and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A FABULOUS TIME WAS HAD BY ALL (Especially me)

  1. Shayla says:

    The energy from that class is palpable in your post.

  2. Tammy Vitale says:

    Now I have sewing machine envy in addition to wow – wouldn’t it be fun to take that class envy! And meet all those cool people!

  3. Carol Wiebe says:

    We had a blast ~ I will do this (teach classes) as often as I can!

  4. Jeane says:

    how exciting Carol – this looks and sounds like it was a huge success – I’m fascinated with these paper quilts – hope this was everything you wanted it to be xxo

Leave a Reply

