Our Friend the Crow

The other day I was watching another one of Flora Doehler‘s delightful videos, Garden Update, and she kept interrupting her own narration because “our friend the crow” was vying for her attention.

Listen to the Crow

I actually spoke out loud to the screen: “It’s me, Flora. I’m trying to get your attention.” (As I’ve said before, my initials are CAW.)

This double spread is for you, Flora. I know you are listening, to many things, not just our friend the crow. I can say that for sure because your numerous videos are filled with your observations, ideas, paintings, painting techniques, and fascinating facts about your life in Bear River.

You are listening, all right, and you have a lot to crow about.

P.S. I hope to spend some time under that magnificent willow.

Corvidae Broadcast

That bold call never
fails to snare
my attention. Once again
I determine to let
my voice be that
assured, to say
what needs saying, no
matter who dubs
me forward, familiar,
or any other words
commonly employed
to subdue the pure
exhilaration of pleasing
my bona fide
self. Can you imagine
a crow allowing
anything

else?

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Carol's poetry, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Friend the Crow

  1. I am listening! lol!
    That’s cute that you have those initials! The crows here are pretty loud, and I love them!
    I can’t wait until you are sitting under that willow tree too. See you soon! Flora

  2. P.S……I love your piece. The colours are totally inspiring Carol.

  3. Tammy Vitale says:

    I didn’t know about your initials! How fun – esp since crows and ravens are such wonderous critters. Nice connection! (lovely piece!)

  4. Pingback: My Life Is a Canvas « Silverspring Studio

Leave a Reply

