Grape Leaf Shadows

I was sitting on my front porch, a place that feeds my soul, and noticed that the grape leaves behind the rocking bench were casting beguiling patterns onto the cement.

I scurried inside to grab my camera, because you never know when a cloud will position itself in such a way that the place you have set your heart on photographing is no longer in amenable light.

Shadows thrill me: their graphic quality, the way they echo the “real thing,” their ability to simplify an object that has been rendered complex by colors and patterns ~ allowing you to perceive the outlines and thus the basic shapes.

I also started thinking about the fact that many concepts are like shadows when you are first introduced to them. You can only grasp the basic outlines. But persistence and interest allows more complex ideas to gain a foothold. Soon you will be skipping about with ease, happily grasping even subtler nuances as your perception adjusts itself to this fascinating new terrain.


Grape Leaf Shadows

A little Photoshop Elements fun produces Grape Leaf Mandala.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grape Leaf Shadows

  1. Deb Sims says:

    Hey Carol,
    Any idea why I receive two of every post?
    Now, mind you, they’re always worth two looks!
    deb

  2. carolwiebe says:

    I have NO idea, and thanks for the vote of confidence. I can always count on you, and have been thinking about you lately, wishing we could have another visit. I read Annie G. Freeman’s Fabulous Traveling Funeral, and thought that you were one of those fabulous, larger than life women that it is so damn wonderful to have in my life!

  3. love this–I’ve been playing with digital “morphing” with color shots of flowers for a while: http://www.flickr.com/photos/juliannefuchsmusgrave/sets/72157623998976556/ and even did a blog post on the concept as it links to my artist process: http://www.indiainktattoo.com/?p=369 but I hadn’t considered black & white. Thanks!

    • carolwiebe says:

      And they are GORGEOUS, Julianne.

      I often end up with a mandala, such as my hibiscus mandala, but I will fool around, in PE, with anything.

      I also suffer enjoy a “healthy, artistic level of oppositional defiant disorder” and am wont to do what pleases me, thank you very much.

      Loved your post Evolutionary Balance, from your later-in-life discovery of the love of orange (me too!) to “working out the structure of a handmade book while mowing the lawn.”

  4. Deb Sims says:

    I haven’t read that but will put it on my Kindle queue! I hope the larger than life part isn’t a reference to my girth! : ) Seriously, we do need another get together. We talked about putting together a workshop. Perhaps we should revisit that idea? I have to get through two weddings first! Hugs to you dear friend.
    deb

  5. nga smith says:

    Dear Mrs. Wiebe: To me the most beautiful thing on earth is SHADOWS. When I was about 3 or 4, one late afternoon I was lying down on a wooden sofa, I was like in a trance watching the shadow of many leaves dancing on the wall. It was like a miracle performing a dance. I am over 70 and still can see that spectacle in my mind each time I see some shadow, in the morning, on the side of my bathroom cabinet.
    Thank you for sharing those gorgeous photos which bring back some of my sweetest childhood memories. Best regards, nga

  6. Pingback: Grape Leaf Shadows | Bourgeon

Leave a Reply

