My Life Is a Canvas

I showed a two page journal spread called Listen to the Crow recently, but there were a few things about the composition that bothered me. I loved the way the mandala in the bottom right had corner looked, but felt it competed too highly for attention. The whole piece needed simplifying, in my view, and so I took paint, pencil crayons, and pastel to it and ended up with this.


Listen to the Crow

(BIG size here)

My life is a canvas, and I can choose to paint it differently as well.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Life Is a Canvas

  1. I love this–I especially respond to whatever it is that allows us, even demands of us that we function WITH our art. My children are always tense when I look at a canvas or other work I’ve given them. They can see that look. I think this keeps us at one with our work–and keeps any individual piece from becoming too “precious.” I only have one canvas from 1974 that I’ve never gone back into. Or over, or wanted to!

Leave a Reply

