The Art of Cropping

I call this new double page spread, from one of my art journals,  “Every Moment.”

Every Moment ~ double page journal spread by Carol Wiebe

Every moment,
something is waiting
to be born in your life ~
let your mind open to each
possibility and your arms will
acquiesce.

Glare is always an issue, even though I used matte varnish. And I felt I should at least try to put some words on a page ~ this is a journal, after all. I liked it better without them.

Luckily, thanks to my good friends and teachers, Diane and Jeane, I have learned a few things about cropping. I am still working on orientation (These women will shift a painting into a better orientation faster than you can flip a pancake. And they are always right!).

Here is my first crop of Every Moment.

Every Moment 2

The second crop (on this one I added a light Photoshop filter):

Every Moment 3

And my third crop:

Every Moment 4

It’s an interesting exercise, this cropping. I will continue to practice it.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Carol's Writing, Handmade Books and Journals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Art of Cropping

  1. Mary Ann says:

    Cropping is a loving art form! ha It has saved more that one piece of my work…brought it into a stronger light and just made it all better! Your work is great…I like the words. Thank you so much for your comment on my blog…touched my heart, isn’t it amazing how we can reach out here in blogland and make someone’s day… fill it with light?!
    Mary Ann… Blue Sky Dreaming

    • carolwiebe says:

      Yes, it is amazing, Mary Ann. Thank you for your comment. I have been quilting, which is harder to crop. Journal pages, as well. So there’s my excuse for being such a slow learner on the cropping thing . . . . and yet, I crop on every sing photo I take. I just “shot” my excuse down!

  2. Deb Sims says:

    We are enjoying many “moments” as we prepare for Austin and Kory’s wedding this Sunday! I am rushing trying to embrace them all. Will be in touch afterward! Keep cropping, TowTruck!

    • carolwiebe says:

      Wow! I know how busy you are, from experience. But I know you are an excellent embracer, Deb, and can hardly wait to hear the details from your inimitable point of view!

  3. arlee says:

    I learned a valuable lesson yesterday with cropping—and didn’t crop :) This is timely and interesting to see what others see!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      I hear you, Arlee. I only cropped digitally because this was a journal page, but I am usually the grit my teeth and make this work type, rather than a cropper.

  4. Pingback: The Art of Cropping | Bourgeon

Leave a Reply

