Julianne Has Said It For Me

There’s no need for me to say anything, today. Julianne has said it for me.

She is an oil painter and I use acrylics. She is an art teacher, and I am “life taught.” (This seems more accurate than “self taught.”) But that feeling she describes of “just being” and an enveloping sense of oneness?

I know that.

Go to her site and read about how hard she is working towards her dream of becoming a full time artist. She emphasizes the term “working,” and describes those palpable symptoms of resistance when the pace of pushing her dream into waking life becomes too frenetic to be borne.

I know that, too.

The still, small voice; the higher self, the raison dêtre, the creative imperative~reveal the dream. So why is it that attempting to follow the dream, which seems so authentic, so real, so utterly necessary to our being, can induce serious mental and physical symptoms of stress? Is this really the place we are “meant to be?” The way we are meant to work?

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of online coaches, teachers, gurus~all proclaiming the necessary steps creative people MUST take to become known, to sell their work, to be successful.

How do we sift through the cacophony? This much I know: all that noise can drown out the “still small voice” if we do not insist, for ourselves, on periods of rest and renewal. Julianne mentioned choice, and that is key. We can choose what we listen to.

Julianne, thank you for reminding us how important it is to acknowledge when we are out of balance. I admire the fact that you’ve made the choice to avoid participating in the promotional frenzy that is our modern Internet. I am intentionally broadcasting energy towards you that you may detect as part of that “wonderful hum” you spoke about with your husband.

I want to hear it, too. I guess I’ll have to stop and listen.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists, Creativiity, Inspiration, Life Strategies, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Julianne Has Said It For Me

  1. Barbara Muir says:

    Hi Carol,

    What a treat to read this. I love that the connection you made with me
    is through Flora, a wonderful friend. The internet is compelling,
    fulfilling and at times overwhelming — like the vast world outside.
    I love that it brings that world to me, but I agree that you have to
    pick and choose what inspires and drives you. If someone’s method
    for success is categorically wrong for you, then there’s no way to make
    it right. Love your blog and your message.

    Take care,

    Barbara

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Well put, Barbara ~ compelling and fulfilling describes my experience with the internet to a T, but overwhelming is also part of the mix. There is a saying that we get more of what we concentrate on, so I shall continue to put my attention on the positive aspects, and simply “forget about” features that do not bring me joy!

      Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. Isn’t it amazing how that Flora connection amplifies ours. I can feel it!

  2. I am touched beyond measure.
    Recently returned from another incredibly powerful week walking the Outer Banks, where at the first moment at the edge of the water that sense of wholeness returned, I am beginning to see my path emerge.
    I truly believe, especially when we become able to walk in silence, we still yearn as sentient beings–to be heard.
    Thank you for hearing me.

  3. barb says:

    I read both Carol’s and Julianne’s post and feel a sense of relief that I am not alone in becoming overwhelmed by the steps we are supposed to take to become “successful” at being an artist. For my own reasons, I have determined that social networking causes me no joy as I am incapable of doing what my “friends” expect of me, let alone getting to know who they actually are, and therefore I have withdrawn from the game and will stand by and observe the consequences of such a decision. That being said, I am grateful for blogs such as both of yours so where does that leave me?

    Strangely enough, just this week my husband has suggested that we begin a practice in our home where we use no electricity after dark so that we have an opportunity to learn who we are rather than drowning in the “cacophony”. Part of me is anxious to participate in this experience and the other half is fretting about how I will keep myself occupied and all the valuable time that i will waste (which assumes that at present I am not a master at wasting time). Perhaps that is exactly why I need to participate………

  4. tammy vitale says:

    Love this connection between two of my favorite folks. Who I wouldn’t know had I never ventured into blogging and FB and social networking. Which is why I remain ensconced – you meet the greatest folks this way!

Leave a Reply

