It Is Written

I am starting a new art journal, and have the first few pages under way. The application of collage and paint to a paper surface continues to fascinate me. There is a hypnotizing quality to the colors and images that emerge, and I feel as if I could just keep painting forever.

Of course, other things intervene. One must cook, eat, brush teeth, sleep, comb hair, walk on the elliptical trainer.  Making art ALL THE TIME does not appear to be possible, even though I do not buy into that “too much of a good thing” nonsense.

I also spend a great amount of time and energy putting what I have learned into a form that can be shared with others, because it is so satisfying to watch someone else take a creative cue and expand it in new directions, according to their own nature and specific talents. Others have certainly done that for me.

I only used 2 colors on these pages ~ except for a bit of white.  Oh, and my last and favorite 2 page spread received another color; a reward for providing me with the name for the book that holds them all between its covers. The words on the female figure spoke to me: “It is written.”

dps 01-1

dps 02-1

dps 031-1

dps 04-1

dps 05-1

Another layer (or two) have already been added and are drying as I write.

Tomorrow Soon, I’ll post the changes.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Carol's Art Processes & Techniques, Handmade Books and Journals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It Is Written

  1. These are such wonderful pages/paintings. I especially love the lower corner “…of that ocean.” So many, many thoughts fill-in the first word that is slightly obscured–giving the concept of “It is written” such a boundary-less life of its own.

    And as far as “too much of a good thing” notion–my instantaneous thought is, hmphhh–I don’t think that’s possible.

    Thank you for the smile you’ve given me this morning.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      OK, Julianne, you are fast becoming one of my BBBs (Best Blogging Buddies). That has led to several physical meetings in the past. Like minds are wont to seek proximity!

      You have eagle eyes. The ocean has long been a symbol for me (and many others, obviously) of the vastness of human consciousness. If the oceans could talk, they’d probably tell us that is just plain hubris!

  2. Sharon Fraser says:

    I’m always thrilled when one of your blog posts arrives in my mailbox Carol!
    I’ve been working on my own art journals lately and I find these pages so inspiring. the colours are amazing. Thanks again for sharing your journey. We MUST get together.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Art journals/books are so satisfying, aren’t they? There’s no pressure to find wall space, and they are so intimate to hold and enjoy.

      Please share . . .

  3. iHanna says:

    I just found your blog but I will subscribe and come back. Your art journal pages are so beautiful, and so is your art work. Thank you for sharing Carol!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      iHanna, I really relate to what you said on your blog about happiness:
      “I come to my blog with a openhearted state of mind to write about the things that make me happy. I try to be conscious of what I experience and I willingly share it here.”
      We are going to get along just fine!

  4. Love your journal pages Carol. I spent most of the summer working on an art journal. I was obsessed with it. I now have a painting studio in my son’s old bedroom. He has left the nest finally. I’ll be posting photos on my blog soon. Donna

  5. Pingback: What Am I Doing These Days? | Silverspring Studio

Leave a Reply

