Four Years Later . . .

At the end of this month, it will be four years since I started writing  in Silverspring Studio. I can’t say I instigated the blog; my son did that for me.

It took me a while to get used to “putting myself in the public eye.” I felt exposed and even vulnerable, at first, but here I am almost four years later, enjoying many wonderful online contacts ~some of whom I have had the privilege of meeting in person.

I think that I will keep on doing this, for the foreseeable future. But a few things are going to change, I hope. I say HOPE because it can be very difficult to pull yourself out of a comfortable rut.

The impetus for the needed change actually came from a post I wrote about making databases. I have millions (unfortunately, that is only a slight exaggeration) of URLs, downloads, and pdf documents which I was determined to put into a database and then share on this blog. I started building up links on several bookmarking utilities, such as “Add to list,” and portaportal. The name, portaportal stinks (my tongue wants to slip and call it Porta Potty), but I found it to be the best link saver of those I sampled in terms of its ability to organize your links effectively.

Then I had an epiphany. Really. It came to me in one of those hypnagogic states, like a heavenly slap to the side of the head, and I saw something very clearly.

I’ve said enough. My hand is trembling. I will share what I realized in a later post. For now, I have introduced the change, and that is sufficient for today.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Writing, Life Strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Four Years Later . . .

  1. You have me so curious…I can’t wait to hear more!

  2. Deb Sims says:

    Alright Tow Truck, cough it up, tell all, let us in on the secret! Please????

  3. Tammy Vitale says:

    Really. Cliff Hanger. No fair!

  4. I agree, I am curious. I’ve had concerns about all my bookmarks. What if I lose them? Again Carol, I am learning from you. BTW, I am teaching in May at Mixed Minded, a mixed media conference in Waterloo. http://www.mixedminded.ca or the ART House. More details to follow!

Leave a Reply

