A Private Art Challenge (That I Am Sharing With Whoever Cares to Read This)

It is the last day of 2010, and I have been cogitating for months now about how I will proceed with art in the coming year.

Notice I said how, not if. There are no ifs about making art.

In a previous post I mentioned that trying to arrange all my thousands of links had precipitated an epiphany. In a nutshell, I realized that I was doing the same thing on the computer that I have been doing in my studio: piling up an inordinate amount of stuff that really had little to do with the essential, authentic me.

My hard drives, in 0ther words, are as cluttered as my studio.

Therefore, I declare my intention to PURGE down to the essentials of what I need. I will not simply sweep everything away, willy nilly. There will be some analysis and examination involved.  However, I am approaching this in a rather hard nosed manner: if I don’t LOVE something,, or see an immediate application to suit my purposes, OUT it will go. I will cut, abridge, delete, discard, eliminate, restrict, expurgate.

Silverspring Studio has become as much a platform for my admiration of others’ work as it has for a presentation of my own art. I experience much joy in promoting and encouraging others, but realize that I want to push myself to express, to a greater degree, how art manifests itself in my everyday life.

I have decided to create a blog, Carol Wiebe WONDERS OUT LOUD, that contains only what I do, think, read, say, sketch, paint, etc. Not only will it highlight what I am wondering about (and there is always something), but it is my greatest hope that art wonders will emerge from my daily input (Yes, I said daily).

My thinking is that a daily discipline will force me to be succinct. It will also push greater growth, as I endeavour to create at least one painting/collage a week. These works will then be incorporated into other works: art books, journals, cracked paper quilts, etc. But the weekly paintings will be the backbone of my method.

Several things precipitated my 2011 approach:

1-Jeane advising me to edit and allow access

2-Katherine Tyrrell’s advice: Blogging art = improved art– it’s the process which makes a difference and it really doesn’t matter one jot if nobody ever reads it!  Just writing it out and analyzing what’s going on helps us sort out how we think about our own art – or the art we are reviewing.  It also helps us to be more articulate about art which in turn helps us talk to clients about our own art.  It’s a win, win, win situation!

3-Mary Anne Wakeley’s observation about her own process: I am discovering that the more humble the materials, the more in tune I feel with the work.

4-Jane Dunnewold’s Daily Visuals, where she committed to a year-long photo-journaling practice, and kept it.

I have other aspirations as well. I want to:

  • Learn how to use InDesign to expedite the many books I have plans for.
  • Write more articles describing the many projects I have visions of.
  • Keep exploring creativity, art methods, composition, color, whatever the muse presents.
  • Write more poetry.
  • Feed my spirit with meditation and contemplation (inspired, in part,  by Katherine Treffinger’s amazing Art of Transformation).

Then there are the classes I am teaching in 2011, so far, Art Book Adventure and Design and Construct a Cracked Paper Quilt. I utterly relish these times of heightened creativity, where art adherents gather, and the full force of our combined focus raises all of us to new heights of realization!

Do you think I have piled enough on my plate? I’d love to hear what you’ve put on yours!

Reflected Light ~ by Carol Wiebe

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Challenges, Carol's Art, Carol's Art Processes & Techniques. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Private Art Challenge (That I Am Sharing With Whoever Cares to Read This)

  1. Pingback: A Private Art Challenge (That I Am Sharing With Whoever Cares to … | Feed-O-Matic

  2. Carol, I am very excited about your new blog!! I LOVE reading your entries about other artists as i have been introduced to so many because of you. HOWEVER, I am keen to see and hear you talk more about your own work and process and I will eagerly await the new blog (and where will it be?)

    We have talked about this before and your post is a reminder to self to hammer out an action plan for my own http://greenwillow.ca site that will better reflect my own art journey. Thanks for the reminder with this…..and have the best New Year!! Take care!
    Flora

  3. Carole, I can’t wait to see your new blog! I’m very excited for you, and will enjoy seeing your personal artwork on a more regular basis…I know it will inspire me in my own creative endeavors. I wish you and your family a very happy 2011. I start an online mixed media class on January 10th – I can’t wait! Have a lovely day. :~)

  4. Tammy Vitale says:

    Whew. I got tired just reading!
    I will say that committing and following through art every day in November (AEDM2010) with Leah Piken Kolidas of CreativeEveryDay.com definitely got my juices running and I created 3 new lines of work in November! I used to blog every day. I don’t know that I could art blog every day.
    My work for the year: 3 workshops leading to a retreat. The first, Vision Mask (I think I’m the only one doing that – haven’t seen it anywhere else!), is full for Jan 16. The next will be Taliswomen (based on one of my new lines), the 3rd Mandala, the retreat Spirit Doll (as things stand now). I’m creating a deck of cards with Wylde Women’s Wisdom quotes (mainly using my own quotes) backed by art (mine and others), and just waking this morning: use my flip camera and video for online. That’s what I bought it for mid last year. I have videoed and shared but not me. My dogs, outside, preparing for an art show (howto). Now it’s my turn. My interest is piqued by “inDesign” tell us more, and I’ll have to go look it up anyways.

    Happy New Year! Enjoy the lollies! hugs

  5. Pingback: Recipe: add a little craziness to your life, and stir (things up). « Carol Wiebe Wonders

  6. Excellent!! My challenge for the year (or just today) is to give up the hesitation blues and start dancing. Walk the walk I preach–take risks both in and out of my art. But most–to live my art. Not as a sideline, not as a “wouldn’t it be wonderful if,” but fully live my art–in whatever form it takes.
    What a joy you are Carol! 2010 was incredibly rich for me in the contacts I have made with other artists who are out there working, thinking, hoping. Thank you for all the encouragement, introductions, and just plain joy you give. Happy New Year my friend!!

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      YES!!! Fully live your art, Julianne, I know you can do that. You’ve already blown me away with what you can do. Will I be able to withstand the gale force winds once you commit more fully?

  7. jeane says:

    A very Happy New Year to you Carol – ambition and then execution – very admirable – your excitement is palpable and I wish you all the best as you venture into 2011 – as for me?, I continue to seek the edge and then push that – it’s uncomfortable most times and creates alot of bad art, but it’s my way – I usually come up on the other side with a deeper understanding of my art practice and the work matures a nano after each push – I’ll be watching your new blog with interest :)

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Jeane, your nano is most people’s mile. I love that about you, and this is my way of pushing the edge. I’m a little nervous about it–you know how I like to protect my process. I have always felt fragile about revealing it, somehow, but I am tired of that, and want to “allow access.” Many hugs and fond wishes for your continued art journey: we all benefit from it.

  8. What a beautiful photographic image Carol!

    I’m being this year. Simply being.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      I hear you, Leslie. However, you are writing, making art, coaching, etc. If you can do all that at the same time as just being, I may need to sign up with you!

  9. Pingback: Recipe: add a little craziness to your life, and stir (things up). « Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud

  10. Pingback: Silver Spring Studio – A Private Art Challenge | Bourgeon

Leave a Reply

