Obstructed View

We have a beautiful gate at the entrance of our back yard, created for us by a very talented friend.

I looked out the window a few days ago, and saw snow hugging the beautiful lines of the gate. It was a stunning graphic effect, begging to be captured in a photo.

But even as I took the photograph, I knew those lines were obscured by the “interference” of other objects. I couldn’t hold up a sheet behind it to block out everything but the gate–my arm just isn’t long enough.

Snow on the gate

When I took the photo into Photoshop Elements, I drew lines and squiggles all over anything I didn’t want in the picture. Then I did my classic copy, flip and line up the mirror images (plus a few other little tricks).

Wheat Triptych

I quite like the result.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Carol's Art, Photos, Photoshop Elements and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Obstructed View

  1. Thanks Carol! This is (again) proof positive that what is an “obstruction” to most, is an opportunity to the artist brain. What gorgeous work you got out of the photos!
    I also love the gate itself–I took a steel sculpture course to finish a degree several years ago and have been thinking about the joy of bending steel. I also have two gates that desperately (really desperately) need replacement. Perhaps when it warms up a little there will be acetylene wafting from this Silver Spring.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      It is a matter or revelling in what we can and do see, and letting go of what we may be told we should see. I’m not sure I said that very well, Julianne, but I’m sure you understand.

Leave a Reply

